Sparkling in the Desert

DSC_0057

DSC_0056

DSC_0054

DSC_0060

I saw this sparkling in the sunlight before I came around the corner. Was it a desert mirage?

DSC_0058

DSC_0053

DSC_0055

DSC_0061

DSC_0059

We had a Dale Chihuly exhibit at the Desert Botanical Garden in the spring. But these were there the other day so I assume they were purchased and are now part of the permanent collection. I hope so anyway. They’re certainly appropriate for their environment and very lovely…different yet complementary to the natural beauty surrounding them.

Oh, and happy September!

11 responses to “Sparkling in the Desert

  1. Those are awesome and so are your photos.

  2. you have the best art in the garden photos..bravo to the botanical garden for such exquisite pieces…and thanks for sharing something so unusual!

  3. A fine series of this beautiful plant. Love the greens with the special light. Well done.

  4. The backlight and the translucency of the plant work perfect here. Well done!

  5. Chihuly is one of my favorite artists. I am so glad we were able to see his collection at the botanical gardens. Awesome if they were purchased! He has a chandelier on display in Glendale at a library. It is incredible!

  6. I love Chihully,
    his work is so organic, and it fits into the space..
    perfect.

  7. wow beautiful plants

  8. Beautiful and actually the first piece of Chihuli glass “sculpture” that I actually like. (Honesty has always been my downfall.) I wonder how they will take the weather…

  9. #3 is my favorite…excellent back light and I love the lime color againnst that Arizona sky.
    Exquisite.

  10. So they are glass. =). ‘Cause as I was looking at the photos, I was thinking, wow, that is amazing. Those plants look like they are made from glass. I don’t know the artist, but I am impressed.

  11. Chihuly’s work is wonderful. If you ever get to Washington state and Seattle, you must take a little drive to Tacoma (not that far) and go to the Museum of Glass to see the Bridge of Glass which is filled with Chihuly work. GORGEOUS!!!

    Your shots are getting better and better, Candace! You go girl!

Leave a Reply

