Daily Archives: April 3, 2012

El Barrio

Did you think this was another mural by Lalo Cota? Looks like one but it’s actually a painting by Lalo Cota. And it’s ours!

Sunday night Tony and I went to Barrio Cafe to celebrate one year of wedded bliss (since we were married on April Fool’s Day, 2011) after 17 years of unwedded bliss. It was multi-award-winning Chef Silvana Salcido Esparza’s vision that was the impetus for the Calle 16 mural project back in 2009/2010. The food is unbelievably awesome.

So the room we were seated in was full of Lalo Cota paintings and, since I love Lalo’s work, it was very tempting to bring one home as an anniversary gift to ourselves. There was a beautiful small one that I really wanted but it was already sold. The one above was right next to our table and I faced it throughout our meal. By the time the meal was over, it was sold, too…to us. I hope it’s the first of many we buy, really, and I would love to be able to buy the work of some of the other muralistas. Our waiter was Hugo Medina, a very nice and extremely accomplished artist, former art teacher, and co-founder of Calle 16. His show will be going up at the Barrio Cafe in a few days. Check out this video about the mural project featuring Hugo.

In other news~since I haven’t posted for a few days, taking full advantage of my last post (about Calle 16) being Freshly Pressed and remaining on the front page for 5 days~my strawberry jar which used to look like this…

Now looks like this…

It is filled with plumbago and vinca, two heat-tolerant plants (we’ll see if heat-tolerant really refers to Arizona heat). Actually, I have had vinca before and it does well in the summer. I’ve never tried plumbago, though. This is vinca…

And the cacti that I originally bought for the strawberry jar but were too big to poke through the pockets now reside here…

“Careful. The beverage you are about to enjoy is extremely prickly.”

And I couldn’t resist using the Warhol effect on the Lalo painting; something about the bright colors reminded me of Warhol. I didn’t realize until today that you can do it in a couple of easy steps in Photoshop Elements.

Thank you to everyone who reads my blog.