Day of the Dead ’12

Yup, you’re in the right place. It’s Día de Los Muertos and we’re going to celebrate!

In most regions of Mexico, November 1 honors children and infants, whereas deceased adults are honored on November 2. This is indicated by generally referring to November 1 as Día de los Inocentes (“Day of the Innocents”)  and November 2 as Día de los Muertos  (“Day of the Dead”).

Let’s party!

These photos were taken at the Arizona Latino Arts and Cultural Center, where they are having a Día de Los Muertos festival on Friday in downtown Phoenix that I hope to attend…so I may have an additional Day of the Dead post in the near future.

Many catrinas and calaveras to dance with…

This is a bottle of Kah Tequila that Tony gave me for my birthday last summer. They make 3 different calaveras for 3 different tequilas, the black one, a white one, and a yellow one…I’ll be getting the other 2 at some point.

If you’ve read my blog for long, you know I usually post Day of the Dead murals for November 1. Here is a link to last year’s post, 2010′s post, and 2009′s post. We have a lot of those types of murals in Phoenix, done by Lalo Cota, Angel Diaz, Pablo Luna, and others, but I could not find any that I haven’t already posted here for today’s post. So, above, is a mural I’ve never shown nor seen, I don’t know if it is still around, but it was done by Lalo Cota and it’s on his business card, so I scanned it, just so I wouldn’t be breaking my own tradition. I wanted to post a photo of this mural, also by Lalo, but by the time I went to shoot it, it had been overpainted.

My cousin, who also loves Day of the Dead, sent me this as well as the metal skeleton (and some other goodies) in the next photo. Love them!

And I added this Day of the Dead cross to my large cross collection.

¡Viva La Vida!

12 responses to “Day of the Dead ’12

  1. These are wonderful photographs, Candace, and thank you so much for the information too! A truly interesting holiday.

  2. This type of art is so interesting. It appears highly stylized, yet there is room for innovation and variation. Fascinating!

  3. Love it all…enjoy that tequila!

  4. Such a fun and colorful holiday!

  5. I love that Kah Tequila bottle! It’s almost too cool to drink.. I said “almost”. Too bad Lalo’s mural on the Monarch Theatre was painted over. I thought it was really great.

  6. Thank you for sharing! Beautiful!

  7. A colorful set of images. Very interesting.

  8. Very colorful and very strange art.

  9. I had a lot of fun looking at your photos! How cool to see another blog post about this celebration! The Catrina statue in the red dress is lovely. That metal skeleton is a nice gift! I look forward to reading more of your posts. It looks like you have some neat Halloween posts to look through.

  10. Pingback: Day of the Dead honored at Oxford Academy | Orange County Breeze

  11. Pingback: Once Upon A Time in Mexico / Day of the Dead Art « Laura Barbosa's Heart of Art Blog

Leave a Reply

