2012, The Year of…

Pigeon Urban and Wild

Wildlife in My Yard! For my personal photoblogging year in review, that is what first comes to mind. I feel as though I took more photos in my neighborhood in 2012 than I normally do so this particular review will be photos taken in our very own, very urban yard over the past year.

Two Harris’ Hawks who spent a lot of time in our neighborhood this year were in our 2 front yard trees one morning (Halloween, actually).

Skippers hung around all year.

Flies!

A rare dragonfly dropped by and I got him away from the cats before damage was done.

The ever-present urban pigeons and doves…

The strangest sighting of the year in our yard…on our roof in this photo…a raccoon…very odd for central Phoenix. I spotted him on 3 different evenings but the last time I saw him was in October. None of the other neighbors seem to have seen him so I am hoping that no harm came to him but I don’t know that for a fact :(

Many Painted Ladies dropped by…

and a Gulf Fritillary or two.

Bees, of course.

Constant hummingbird action at the feeder, year-round. Click on above to animate.

Mockingbirds aplenty.

New to me, a verdin.

DSC_0006

I think this one above is an Anna’s Hummingbird. I really can’t tell the difference usually between our hummingbirds…if they are Allen’s, Rufous, or Ruby-Throated.

We also had coyotes in our yard last spring but we didn’t see them. Several of our neighbors did, however, but they left after a few days of sightings and none of our outdoor cats were harmed. I really hope they don’t come back!!!!!

So that was part of my year in review. Other 2012 topics would be our cats, roadtrips, murals (I’m way behind in my local mural documentation), flowers, and holidays celebrated. 2012 was also the year that I started to enjoy putting frames around some of my photos…hokey, maybe…but I find it very relaxing and entertaining, for some reason…and isn’t that part of why we do this?

Pigeon circle

So, here’s to a great year of photoblogging/blogging ahead for all of us. I enjoy reading all of your blogs and thank you for looking at mine.

6 responses to “2012, The Year of…

  1. You had a lot of cool visitors in your yard! Amazing, some of them, to be in the city! I remember though in 1968 I raised a Swainson’s hawk from a tiny chick to an adult in a house just west of Scottsdale.

  2. You got some amaaazing shots this year! I love the one of the pigeons lined up and that raccoon is SO CUTE. What a funny sighting in Phoenix?!

  3. What a great theme to the year. Here’s to more wildlife (the right kind) showing up in 2013!

  4. A beautiful survey of pictures. I like so many, it’s hard to pick a favorite. The animation was fun.

  5. Candace, these are wonderful. I thought the mockingbird was my favorite, until I scrolled to the last one. Instant love!
    Happy Sunday to you!
    xo.

  6. amazing ,,love the butterfly and hummingbirds !

Leave a Reply

