Der Wiener

DSC_0009

What’s that peeking through the bushes? I knew the day I wound up blogging about the Oscar Mayer Wienermobile would mean I am really low on photos. I didn’t relish the idea but I mustard up the courage to ketchup on some of my old shots. So here it is!

DSC_0007

I was excited to see der wienermobile, however, on a late October afternoon when I was out doing errands, and came upon it parked at a hotel about a 1/2 mile from my house. It was the first time I ever saw one of them in person. Have you seen one?

DSC_0005

Note the dashboard. The first wienermobile was created in 1936 and has evolved through many variations. There are currently 8 of them in existence. You, too, might come upon one in your neighborhood some day.

DSC_0011_edited-1

At first, I thought this guy was some Oscar Mayer “official,” but it just turned out he was a fan…he and his wiener dog in a bun outfit.

DSC_0003 copy

Who am I to judge? I might have some unusual interests, too.

And, when else could I segue into this photo?! I’ve been a vegetarian for over 20 years. One of my co-workers was raised as a vegetarian and her mother makes vegetarian corndogs as a fundraiser to finance her mission trips. I purchased a batch in December.

Corndogs_edited-2

They were really good and, to the best of my recollection, they tasted a lot like real corndogs.

Corniest post ever. Sorry.

6 responses to “Der Wiener

  1. Now, this is a post that I can relate to! One of my favorite “wonder-wagons” :)

  2. What can I say? LOL!

  3. I’ve never seen one of the mobiles but I’ve read that they are pretty well equipped. I’d sure rather see that kind of advertising than some of the really stupid commercials on TV these days!

  4. This is a very interesting post of these unique mobile advertisements. I’m frequently at the low point too. One would think a post a day would be no problem, but frequently I find myself without one I’d LIKE to post.

  5. OMG…I just saw the wiener mobile the other day here in Chicago! It totally made me smile!!!

  6. I LOVED this post, Candace.
    I’ve not seen the wiener mobile, and its wonderful!
    Thank you for the smiles, my friend, and you have a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

