Quickening of the Heart

DSC_0009_edited-1

DSC_0054

He’d always had a quickening of the heart when he crossed into Arizona and beheld the cactus country. This was as the desert should be, this was the desert of the picture books, with the land unrolled to the farthest distant horizon hills, with saguaro standing sentinel in their strange chessboard pattern, towering supinely above the fans of ocotillo and brushy mesquite. 
~ Dorothy B. Hughes, The Expendable Man

DSC_0004 a

DSC_0018_edited-1

Everything that ever happened to me that was important happened in the desert. 
~ Michael Ondaatje, The English Patient

CloseUp 1 Sag 2

DSC_0055

WCF

8 responses to “Quickening of the Heart

  1. I love seeing photos from the desert! All are very familiar.

  2. Beautiful photos Candace. I am really looking forward to seeing my favorite cacti in a few weeks. I do long for and miss those sights.

  3. On a morning when the east coast is about to get socked with snow measured in feet, it’s pleasant to think that flowers are about to begin popping open all around us, isn’t it?

  4. These are so touching to a born and raised desert dweller! We sure live in a special place.

  5. Glorious photos, Candace! They really bring back the magic of the four years I lived in Phoenix. The second pic makes me think of a squadron of alien dragonflies about to take flight.

  6. I always find it strange, when I hear someone say, “The desert has no color.” I think quite the opposite. It is full of color, and you have so beautifully shown that here, Candace. Wonderful images.

    I hope you have a fantastic weekend!

  7. I really like the low angle on that first shot. It gives the place a looming effect that is very appealing. Excellent close ups throughout.

  8. Another fine series of these beautiful cacti parts. I would love to see the desert in the spring!

Leave a Reply

