Juvenile

DSC_0002a

This little guy/girl is smaller than most of the other hummingbirds and his/her colors aren’t as vivid so I assume he/she is a juvenile hummer. He/she also was very close to me, about a foot away, which is unusual, especially since I kept clicking the shutter. This top photo is the sharpest, click for more detail.

And now for a few more (rapid) wing positions:

DSC_0020

DSC_0021

DSC_0031

DSC_0032

Slurp!

Slurp!

I just found this fun live webcam where a hummingbird in California, Phoebe, has a nest with 2 hatchlings in it, one hers and one adopted. Her “hosts” have been documenting her nesting for the last 6 years. Check it out, it’s fascinating.

6 responses to “Juvenile

  1. OH how fun! I’ll have to go back when the light comes up in CA! Thanks for sharing. I love those little birds. When we were in Tucson a little hummingbird came to our balcony every single day to feed on a prickly pear plant. I can’t get enough of them. They are so interesting!

  2. wow what fabulous pictures! I’ve only ever seen a hummingbird in Canada whilst sitting on the deck of my friends house.They are awesome birds!

  3. A fine series of flying hummingbirds. Shooting that is difficult to accomplish. I went to the link and waited until a hummingbird returns. Very good live camera site.

  4. Terrific photos, Candace! Such a wonderful little cteature!

  5. There is nothing quite as sweet as these little ones. They are so difficult to photograph, but you surely have done it beautifully here, Candace.

    Thank you so very much for sharing the webcam link. I absolutely LOVED it.

    I hope you are having a great weekend!

  6. Oh. My. Goodness. These images are gorgeous!

Leave a Reply

