The Gilded Feather

DSC_0013

This 20 foot gilded feather is suspended at the entrance to the Scottsdale Civic Center Library. It is part of an installation called Imagination Gives Us Wings by Larry Kirkland.

Bird in Roof

Above it, a bird-shaped oculus traces the movement of the sun as the bird “flies” across the entryway. The feather appears to have fallen from the bird’s wings.

Window in Stone

The library had changed since the last time I was there a few years ago. Many of the surrounding trees and bushes were in spring bloom the other evening.

DSC_0014

DSC_0023

This is an orchid tree, they’re pretty dramatic.

DSC_0016

Do you ever have a blog post that you think is kinda crappy? That’s how I feel about this one. Hope to get some more photos lined up this weekend. The citrus is in bloom here now and it smells heavenly. Happy Spring!

6 responses to “The Gilded Feather

  1. I love the flowers and really, really miss the smell of the citrus blossoms!

  2. What a crazy looking awesome tree!! I love the art installations in Arizona. That one is especially fun!

  3. Oh no never crappy! You are my window to another world! I love that gilded feather!

  4. I have never come here to a “crappy” post!!
    It is always a pleasure to see your world through your eyes.
    For instance, right now I am seeing those beautiful flowers, when I really DO need to see some color, and for sure, I’ve never seen a 20 ft. golden feather. That is amazing!

    Wishing you a wonderful weekend, Candace.

  5. A fine series of the hanging symbols. I especially enjoyed the beautiful blossoms. I seem to be making more “crappy shots” in the last few weeks. The dull and drab winter didn’t help things at all. That’s why I decided to take the weekend off: no pictures I felt like posting! ;-)

  6. Beautiful flowers! Great pictures! :)

Leave a Reply

