Stirred for a Bird

DSC_0022 crop

DSC_0017

DSC_0018

DSC_0018 crop

DSC_0020 crop

DSC_0023 crop

I spent half an hour in my yard with camera in hand; these are 2 mockingbirds and 2 hummingbirds that were entertaining me. Both types of birds are very talkative and perform many antics.

DSC_0012 crop

DSC_0007 crop

DSC_0011 crop

DSC_0014 crop

I’ve loved this poem since I first read it decades ago in high school:

The Windhover
To Christ Our Lord

I caught this morning morning’s minion, king-
dom of daylight’s dauphin, dapple-dawn-drawn Falcon, in his riding
Of the rolling level underneath him steady air, and striding
High there, how he rung upon the rein of a wimpling wing
In his ecstasy! then off, off forth on swing,
As a skate’s heel sweeps smooth on a bow-bend: the hurl and gliding
Rebuffed the big wind. My heart in hiding
Stirred for a bird, – the achieve of, the mastery of the thing.

Brute beauty and valour and act, oh, air, pride, plume, here
Buckle! AND the fire that breaks from thee then, a billion
Times told lovelier, more dangerous, O my chevalier!

No wonder of it: shéer plód makes plough down sillion
Shine, and blue-bleak embers, ah my dear,
Fall, gall themselves, and gash gold-vermilion.

~Gerard Manley Hopkins, written in 1877

It’s about a kestrel, which is a symbol for Christ, but it applies to many birds…”My heart…stirred for a bird, – the achieve of, the mastery of the thing.”

Abandoned Nest

Abandoned Nest

Almost seems like an appropriate Easter week post.

7 responses to “Stirred for a Bird

  1. I know this poem, Candace!
    Your hummingbird photos are magical, and I love the shots of the mockingbirds. The lines of the antenna make for really interesting photos.

    I hope you’ve had a great weekend, and I wish you a wonderful beginning to your week!

  2. I knew the poem as soon as I saw the title. I spent a semester in college studying with a Hopkins scholar. He taught me to love that poem.

  3. I love Mockingbirds.. beautiful songs. And they won’t take any crap from cats (lol). Strangely, had one singing outside of my window just the other night about 3 AM.

  4. Love them! I watched two finches in my yard gathering a chicken feather for their nest.

  5. I like both series for the interesting action they captured. I especially llked the mockingbirds on the Yagi antenna for its bars and lines. You obtained excellent sharpness in both series.

  6. Oh, how pretty ~
    And your comment worked at my place.

Leave a Reply

