Wonderland

Pomegranate Flower

Pomegranate Flower

Pomegranate Buds and Blossoms

Pomegranate Buds and Blossoms

I know it’s certainly not specific to my yard this time of year since spring is bustin’ out all over…but Saturday morning when I went out to feed the outdoor cats, there were blooms and flowers everywhere, birds cavorting, butterflies flitting, so that it seemed like a spring wonderland.

Pine Cone Buds

Pine Cone Buds

Pyracantha Blooms

Pyracantha Blooms

Sparrow

Sparrow

Cat's Claw

Cat’s Claw

This is a huge vine that goes across most of the front of our house and one of the sides. Twice a year it blooms so it’s pretty extravagant.

Hibiscus

Hibiscus

My hibiscus is coming back after being slightly damaged by the frost even though it was covered.

Lantana

Lantana

The lantana also had frost damage but it’s coming back nicely. They’re very hardy.

Mulberries

Mulberries

Oleander

Oleander

Mesquite Blooms

Mesquite Blooms

It was so colorful and vibrant that I had to try to capture some of it.

5 responses to “Wonderland

  1. wow some of those are so exotic looking. A pomegranate flower! I’ve never seen one before. I adore hibiscus and since we’ve moved we now have a tiny little hibiscus that blooms profusely.

  2. My, did those photos bring back memories for me! Very nice photos!

    I really miss the mulberry pies that we used to make.

  3. And you did capture the essence of spring in this series. I was a bit surprised that you experienced some impact of freezing temperatures. A strong series of pictures.

  4. What a perfect title for this post, Candace!
    All of these are wonderful, but that hibiscus is absolutely gorgeous. Such an amazing color. It makes me think of a sunset.
    Wishing you a fantastic day!

  5. Beautiful! I am always amazed how everything rebirths, especially after the harsh winter we had!

Leave a Reply

