Ro Ho En

Duck and Koi

We finally made it to the Japanese Friendship Garden in downtown Phoenix. It’s a small, 3.5 acre oasis right in the middle of town. (Click photos for more detail.)

DSC_2560

The koi were my favorite part of this outing where both Tony and I took a lot of photos. So, since this post is photo-heavy, I’ll keep the chatter to a minimum.

DSC_0017

DSC_0020

DSC_0027

DSC_0032

DSC_0035

DSC_0044

DSC_0047

DSC_0067

DSC_0075

Yin and Yang

Yin and Yang

DSC_2486

DSC_2491

DSC_2496

DSC_2501

DSC_2503

DSC_2504

DSC_2505

DSC_2512

DSC_2515

DSC_2517

DSC_2519

DSC_2550

DSC_2551

DSC_2526

Back to the koi! You can buy a little bag of food there for the koi and everyone seemed to be doing it but they’re a greedy bunch and the ducks were wanting their fair share, too.

DSC_2532

DSC_2534

Such cute, expressive faces, “I’m hungry!”

DSC_2540

DSC_2546

DSC_2548

DSC_2549

DSC_2557

It’s a lush, pretty, and peaceful park in an unlikely location, definitely a lovely place to take a contemplative walk.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

11 responses to “Ro Ho En

  1. What a beautiful place, Candace!
    I love Yin and Yang. :-)

  2. dianeschuller.com

    wow, those koi are HUGE! I love your image Yin Yang in particular! Lovely photos of your day at the Japanese gardens

  3. Candace, this looks like a magical and serene place! Like heaven for a photographer, or anyone who enjoys beauty.
    Happy weekend to you!

  4. What a pretty place that is! Beauty on very expensive real estate!

  5. I have lived in the Valley for 25 years and have not been here. I think this is on my list of things to do in Phoenix. Excellent shots. Thank you.

  6. This is a fabulous presentation of this garden. Excellent picture after picture. The tour certainly made me wish I could visit the garden myself!

  7. The very first shot is awesome!

  8. What a beautiful place! We thought about having our wedding there, but with City fees it turned out to be sooooo expensive.

    I make that face when I’m hungry, too!

  9. Oh, the koi look hungry! What a delightful place, hard to believe it’s in the desert. Totally enjoyed all of your beautiful images!

  10. Candace, this looks like a beautiful place to visit!
    I am especially loving the different types of trees. Really beautiful.

    Have a wonderful weekend!!

  11. There is something profoundly beautiful about Japanese gardens, and you have captured the essence and beauty of one of them in these pictures. Very nice.

Leave a Reply

