Viad Bronzes

DSC_3260

DSC_3287

DSC_3289

DSC_3308

Amazingly, this window washer at the Viad Corporate Center in downtown Phoenix is a sculpture! I had to touch his white coveralls to make sure they were bronze as they looked exactly like fabric.

DSC_3249

DSC_3252

DSC_3253

DSC_3251

This beautiful property is filled with fascinating, life-sized sculptures. I always love to find new-to-me places where I can take some photos and I just discovered where these sculptures were recently…I’ve driven by the building countless times but they aren’t visible from the street unless you park and walk around.

DSC_3272

DSC_3283

DSC_3277

DSC_3271

But this is the best part~to me~how they’ve made these two different pieces interact as though they’re meant to be together…

DSC_3262

DSC_3265

DSC_3266

And how cool is it to immortalize a photographer in bronze?

DSC_3270

DSC_3264

DSC_3299

DSC_3294

DSC_3295

I like how they are all carefully placed to take full advantage of their surroundings. Apparently there are additional sculptures inside the lobby of a security guard and a man reading the newspaper.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

6 responses to “Viad Bronzes

  1. How fascinating! I really enjoyed this post.

  2. Candace, these are amazing!
    There is no way I would have thought the window washer was bronze.

  3. These sculptures are amazingly lifelike. The puddle jumpers are spectacular in design and execution. WOWl collection today!

  4. dianeschuller.com

    these are really incredible. I truly thought that window washer was real!

  5. Candace, what a great find. I love the idea of art into more art, as you’ve done! The window washer is particularly life-like. Is he a little larger than life-size? All of these pieces look like they’d be fun to re-visit under differing lighting conditions, too.
    Have a happy weekend!

  6. Candace, I love these! What a great find and excellent photos!

Leave a Reply

