March Mornings

Finch Roof 3.8.14 crop

One of the finches from my last post seems to have gotten the girl.

Finch Tree 2

Here’s the happy couple. I was off work today…I love being out in my yard with camera in hand in the mornings…Some of these were last weekend, some were this morning.

DSC_3585

I was so excited to see this guy in our lantana butterfly garden! S/he’s a Gray Hairstreak, which I’ve only seen one other time and it was in Scottsdale, not our yard. (Click photos for more detail in the morning light.)

DSC_3595

Hairstreaks are fascinating to me because of their “protective mimicry.” They have “fake” heads on the backs of their wings in order to fool predators as their tails are expendable but, obviously, their heads are not.

DSC_3598

And my little buddies, the Skippers are back, too, in full force.

DSC_3607

There are so many varieties of Skippers that I’m not sure what this particular one is but he doesn’t look like the ones I usually see, which I always assumed were Fiery Skippers. I’ve been checking my fave website for AZ butterfly ID’ing but I can’t quite figure this one out.

DSC_3608

DSC_3609

DSC_3610

Mock on Roof

The mockingbirds (and hummingbirds) are keeping busy, too.

Bee 3.8.14

And the bees are digging it all, too. Spring is definitely here in Phoenix.

5 responses to “March Mornings

  1. Oh what gorgeous creatures one and all – and what great photos of them! Gotta love having a fake head – I definitely want one.

  2. Love that butterfly with a fake head! Enjoy your spring!

  3. You get a fine collection of butterflies. It took the enlargement to full appreciate the rare capture. I enjoyed the other shots too. Early morning is a prime time and I’m glad you have some much activity then. Nice post.

  4. It sure is looking like spring where you are, Candace, and a very beautiful one too. :-)

    Have a great weekend!

  5. dianeschuller.com

    spring certainly has arrived in your back yard. I love that you really take it in and appreciate it

Leave a Reply

