Snowy

DSC_3772

We went for a walk on Sunday through Evelyn Hallman Park in Tempe, a park I used to visit a lot over 20 years ago when it was called Canal Park.

DSC_3765

I was so excited, toward the end of our walk around the pond there, to see this guy (or girl). In fact, there were 2 of them but I only got shots of one. We first spotted him high in a tree overlooking the pond, searching for a meal. I’ve never seen an egret (or heron) in a tree before.

DSC_3768

DSC_3766

This is the first Snowy Egret I’ve been able to photograph. What I usually see are the larger Great Egrets (here are some and here is one). Great Egrets have yellow bills and dark legs and feet. Snowy Egrets have dark bills, black legs, and yellow feet (which are somewhat comical).

DSC_3767

We saw some other interesting birds and critters there, which I’ll show you in my next post. And he took off, soaring over the pond with his friend…

DSC_3769

DSC_3770

DSC_3771

5 responses to “Snowy

  1. Absolutely Beautiful…

  2. Very nicely captured. There’s a loose coalition of egrets and herons that hang out in Indian Bend Wash between Osborn Rd and the horse statues at Indian Bend Wash. They sometimes sit in trees, reminding one more of the Louisiana bayous than the Sonoran Desert, but I love them anyway. http://onespeedgo.blogspot.com/2010/03/egrets-ive-had-few.html

  3. What a gorgeous creature, and your timing was perfect in these, Candace.

  4. Beautiful bird and your photos are excellent. We never get to see them in this area,

  5. I thoroughly enjoyed this post. I have never known of these birds to land in a tree, but then my experience with them is extremely limited. The flight shots are superb! WOW captures, Candace!

Leave a Reply

