Lake Margherite

DSC_5472

I took another walk around Lake Margherite in Scottsdale by where I work last week. I love it there. This is a small heron that I think may be a Green Heron but I’ll never really know for sure. He may also be a Night-Crowned Black Heron, which I have seen before here (see my previous walk around this lake)~sadly, I have always spelled the lake’s name wrong until now).

DSC_5473

Whatever he is, he didn’t much care for the attention and flew to the other side for some privacy.

And here are a few more sights around the lake:

Dragonfly 8.15.14

Hawk 8.15.14

179

All the trees are numbered.

Crested Mallard 8.15.14

Remember a couple months ago when I saw a baby crested mallard at another lake in town? Well, here’s an adult one swimming with her friends.

DSC_5488 square

DSC_5489 square

DSC_5484 square

And a lovely Giant Swallowtail flying over the lake.

Lake View_edited-1

This is the lake from the far end, it curves some so you can’t see the whole thing. One of the benches…

Relax Bench

I did.

8 responses to “Lake Margherite

  1. Just looking at your lovely photos makes me relax and enjoy.

  2. Lovely and peaceful photos!

  3. A nice little tour of the lake and a beautiful nature! Bravo for the butterfly in flight
    Have a good Sunday!

  4. dianeschuller.com

    how nice to be able to join you in this journey around the lake

  5. What a treasure a lake like that is in your area!

  6. You have a beautiful lake near where you work. I like the variety of shots you got of the creatures you spotted. Well done, Candace.

  7. I ask you, can it get any better?
    Amazing capture of the butterfly- what a lovely spot to spend the day.

  8. How fortunate you are to work close by to such a beautiful place, Candace. I love these photographs, especially the butterfly.

Leave a Reply

