My Home Park

Starlings in Cactus with ornament_edited-2

The European Starlings were decorating their cactus the other day at Granada Park, which I am now considering my “home park.” It’s the closest city park with a lake (2 of them) to our house and it also has trails leading out into the desert foothills of Piestewa Peak, part of the Phoenix  Mountain Preserve.

Christmas Mocks ps

“I refuse to be outdone by those Starlings!”

Bun

So it has both desert and water habitats and the resulting wildlife. I go there at least once a week with my camera. A lot of my photos in the last few months were taken there.

Longview_edited-1

DSC_8154

Bird Feeders

There’s a little hidden area where someone keeps the bird feeders stocked. Unfortunately, the birds hear me coming and fly away before I can get any good shots of them.

Mock_edited-1

Northern Mockingbird

Inca Dove_edited-1

Inca Dove

Finch

House Finch

Flock

Although there are currently migrating Mallards, American Wigeons, American Coots, and Ring-Necked Ducks there, these are some of the year-round regulars that are basically just hybirds and domestic ducks (“City Park Specials”) but I think they are handsome, nevertheless.

DSC_7625

DSC_7627

I love this guy, above, who looks like he is posing for me. He hangs out with a couple of the big white ducks and geese most of the time.

DSC_7634

DSC_7642

DSC_7647

DSC_7649

And a few fun-loving Mallards to finish it off:

DSC_7630

DSC_7640

*Certain Photoshopped elements courtesy of Obsidian Dawn.

6 thoughts on “My Home Park

  1. I like the variety in your post. The Christmas equipped birds are very funny looking. The ducks forms a fine part of the presentation. I enjoy your posts every time, Candace. Your photography is very good!!

    Like

  2. A beautiful place of passage for migratory birds !! Each brings its decorative flair to Christmas! here no cacti decorate, can be the little that is in the pot, but it is not the same size as yours! Have a good weekend

    Like

Leave a comment