Dreary Days

Most of this week has been gloomy weather-wise.  A lot of people in AZ look forward to the occasional cloudy day because it’s such a change from our usual bright, sunny days.  Not me–growing up in the midwest, I saw plenty of winter gloom.  So, while I appreciate when it rains here (it hasn’t rained, it just looks like it’s going to), I don’t appreciate these dreary days.  And, most importantly, I just can’t get good shots when it’s cloudy!  My newfound pleasure in daily shooting has fizzled out this week. 

I love photos that show shadow or texture, accentuated by the sunlight.  Here’s a fairly unattractive store back I saw a few months ago but something about the textures in the late afternoon light made me want to capture it.  It wasn’t really inviting but it drew me in.

store-back

I just looked at the forecast and, although tomorrow will be another gloomy workday, the weekend should be bright and sunny again so I can get some more material for a few days of photoblogging.

Here’s another shot from my lunchtime shoot last week at Scottsdale Civic Center. Gotta love those little black feet!  And that nice, bright sun.

swan-2

Hope you’re as eager for the (sunny) weekend as I am.

Candace

4 thoughts on “Dreary Days

  1. Ohhh, I LOVE the little black feet. 🙂 The water is just gorgeous.

    I know what you mean about textures. Sometimes I find myself wanting to capture some pretty unconventional stuff. 🙂

    I’m sorry about that MuNKi link. Last night it worked for me, but this morning it had reverted to the host site. Yuck. It was supposed to go to a pic of a guy in fatigues with the name “Obvious”, who happened to be a Captain, LOL!

    Like

Leave a Reply

