My Alma Mater

President Obama will deliver three commencement addresses next month, the first of his presidency.

The graduation addresses will take place May 13th at Arizona State University in Tempe, AZ; on May 17th at the University of Notre Dame in South Bend, Indiana; and on May 22nd at the U.S. Naval Academy.  I’m fairly impressed considering one is my alma mater (ASU) and one is my hometown university (Notre Dame).  Of course, I won’t be in attendance at either, unfortunately, but I’m excited nonetheless.

ASU was originally Normal School, a teacher’s college.

asu31

Sacred walls of ivy…

asu2

Old Main’s renovation many years ago, under ominous skies…

asu5a

And then there’s Notre Dame.

nd

educating

gold-dome

Too bad they’re in a tizzy about Obama’s speech in South Bend.

Karsten Solheim spoke at my graduation; no offense, but it wasn’t exactly thrilling or inspiring and not very newsworthy.  Of course, he donated millions to ASU so he was an important person to them but I’d say Obama trumps him. What a nice bonus to get for your tuition dollars.

Candace

4 thoughts on “My Alma Mater

    1. Thank you, I did actually wind up going to the commencement at ASU and seeing him in person. He was a long way away from me but it was still exciting.

Leave a Reply

