Pssst, Pass It On…

lighthouse-smaller

This is a photo from film, taken a few years ago, in South Haven, Michigan–a place I usually get to once a year. I like the photo because even the silhouettes of the people lend a timeless quality to it.

A couple of weeks ago, Linda Steider, an awesome glass artist, posted a Pass It On, Random Act of Kindness, Give-Away on her blog.  Although it took me a couple of days of thinking about it, I participated, and now I am following the rules and posting a similar give-away here.  The rules are simple and it seems like it will be a lot of fun.

The first five (5) people to comment on this post will get something from or made by me. This offer does have some restrictions and limitations so please read carefully:

•  I make no guarantees that you will like what I make (if I decide to make something).

•  What I create or give will be just for you.

•  It’ll be done over the next 12 months.

•  You have no clue what it’s going to be. It very likely may be something photo-related but I have a year to do it so it could be something else I experiment with in the meantime. It might be those flourless peanut butter cookies I have almost perfected (let me know if you’re allergic to peanuts) or it might even be a book I think you will like or it could be a gift certificate from someplace fun. You just won’t know until you get it!

•  I reserve the right to do something extremely strange.

•  I reserve the right to change the rules!

And in return, all you need to do is post this text into a post of your own (on your blog, in a forum you visit, somewhere) and make or give 5 things for 5 others.

Of course, you’ll want to send me your mailing address…You may know me IRL (or we may be complete strangers) to participate, too!

Sound fun?  Comment below, but if you aren’t interested in participating in the Give-Away, please let me know in your comment, otherwise you are committed!  Pass it on…

Candace

12 thoughts on “Pssst, Pass It On…

  1. Guess I’m in!! This is exciting. And knowing the Mexican Postal service works, I’m looking forward to doing this. I just hope anyone who reads my blog will be interested in participating. Thanks for passing this on!!

  2. Hi Candace! Thanks for finding me. I want to participate in your pass it on random acts of kindness give away. I’m all for spreading some art and happiness around the world.

    1. Hi, Pat! Yay, thanks for participating. I’m having a hard time drumming up business here. Do you still have the same address you did a few years back?

  3. Candace,
    your thoughts on beneficial symbiotic social behavior, was movingly addressed by OBAMA at ASU – eg volunteer skills to a small non-profit (art) organziations, benefiting self and community service. Volunteer local causes.
    Hey, Alwun House is One.
    bless

  4. this is so cool. i saw this somewhere else—on a blog i read almost daily. i was not sure exactly how it worked, but i told her i wanted to be a part of it. i’m still not exactly sure how it works, either. i still have not received what i was supposed to from her. so no i’m really confused.

    but i’ll participate with yours. just let me know what i’m supposed to do. 🙂

    how cool that you have that connection to chicago. i love the city! it’s probably my favorite big city of all the ones i’ve been to. plus, i was born there. in fact, i just came from there. my twin sister lives there. i visit whenever i can. 🙂

    well, have a great memorial day weekend!

    1. Georgia, all you do is post the same message into your blog. Of course, you can customize it a little as I did re: the gift and all. But the gift doesn’t have to go out for a year so, unless it’s been over a year since you participated in the other person’s, you probably wouldn’t have received your gift yet. I think you are supposed to send that person (and me, if you really want to participate in 2) your address so they will be able to send your gift when they want to 🙂 If you’re already in one, it’s okay, you don’t have to be in mine, too, just let me know. Thanks.

  5. Candace, appreciate your thoughts re; community social service. Photography has intrigue. We’ll be in touch as our non-profit Board is putting together multi-tier fundraising stratagies – we’ll find one perfect for your interest.
    Kim

Leave a Reply

