The Bee’s Knees

Bee 4

Well, you can’t really see his knees from this angle. I was looking at some bee photos on the internet, trying to find out what type of bee this is but I didn’t see one that looked like him. Originally, I thought he was some type of carpenter bee because we have them in our yard and this one was the same size (and buzzed loudly like carpenter bees), but I didn’t see any photos where they were any color other than black…unless this is a mutant carpenter. Do you know what he/she is?

One of my cousin Deborah’s (whose name means “Queen Bee”) favorite charities is Heifer International, a non-profit organization whose goal is to help end world hunger and poverty through self-reliance and sustainability.  One of the ways you can give a hand up (not a hand out) to the world’s poor is by donating honeybees, which will provide a family with a package of bees, the box and hive, plus training in beekeeping.

Candace

11 thoughts on “The Bee’s Knees

  1. A new one for me and as you already know, I haven’t identified my photographed bees very well. Excellent photo… Sometimes I look on the internet and think that maybe I’ve found something new but eventually I find what I’m looking for.

  2. very interesting about the name Deborah! If no one helps you identify this bee, which does seem to be a mutant, why not send your photo to your local university and see if someone there can help you. I’m curious now as well!

  3. That is a most unusual insect! Maybe it’s an “albino” bee, or a “honey golden” bee 😉 ha ha. I gotta say I am most impressed by these ideas you find and present here in your blog. They are awesome! Donating honey bees is simply a terrific idea, no matter how you look at it!

  4. Great charity idea! But I’ve no idea about the bee. As long as it’s not african (no offense Kelli).

  5. That is one interesting bee. I am not sure what it is, I have looked it up, and will keep looking. Interesting. Thanks for sharing.
    Sarah @ Bee House Hives

Leave a Reply

