Hometree

This tree with huge, twisting limbs and a gigantic canopy is my homage to Avatar.

It’s hard to show its vastness and contortions, even with a fisheye lens.

One can almost imagine the Na’vi living among its branches.

Its uppermost leaves mingle with those of other trees, contributing to a tropical feel.

This hometree has many stories to tell, I’m sure. Many living beings have sheltered in its shade, although probably none as exotic as the Na’vi.

Did you see the movie and like it? I loved it, not just for the awesome special effects and beautiful scenery but for its spiritual qualities and touching story. It was just a movie but I keep thinking about it days later so I guess I got my money’s worth.

19 responses to “Hometree

  1. Wow … that first shot even LOOKS animated 🙂

  2. Somehow, the pics look like artwork done in colored pencils, and it is a fantastic effect! I kept loooking and looking at them…. lovely, just lovely!

  3. I’ve always loved that kind of tree, but for the life of me I can’t remember what it is.

  4. The contorted trees make remarkable subjects for these shots. Excellent eye-catching effect. Very well done.

  5. I am linking to Angie’s nominees this morning! And stopped by for a visit. Great job you are doing with this blog and what a treat to visit Arizona through your photographic eye. I lived there for 20 years roaming the deserts and high country with camera in hand. Please take some pix of the poppies! I just know with all the rain they should be spectacular this year!

    I am crazy about the tree images in this post. I have a “thing” for old, branching, fabulous trees like this one and it is a treat finding someone who finds them as fascinating as I do! And you captured the tree so beautifully. Every single image is just awesome!

    Happy Anniversary and many, many more!I will be back to visit!

  6. some really great shots of that tree — I’m especially enamored with the first one.
    No I didn’t see the movie 🙂

  7. Omg.

    That so great looking tree. Now I know where Avatar was filmed. 🙂 LOL. So, I liked Your photos, lovely.

  8. I saw it last night and wrote about it today. I absolutely loved it. Your photos are wonderful!

  9. Yes I saw the movie and was very distracted by the excellent vision of the beautiful forest…. I enjoyed the story less than the eye candy… The tree you pictured is very beautiful…

  10. Great tree shots, Candace, but I absolutely love the cat eyes shot – fantastic!! I haven’t seen Avatar and have no real desire to do so. I’ll probably just wait for pay per view. 🙂

  11. Wonderful Candace! and those cat’s eyes! Wowza!

  12. A wonderful tree!

  13. William Buell

    Thanks for reading my poem and commenting. WordPress does have a curious way of suggesting related blogs. The photos are fantastic. What sort of camera and lens did you use. Was it a digital camera? I imagine most photography these days is done with digitals. I don’t know much about cameras. You seem to have a naturally gifted eye for composition.

  14. a gem of a tree.great angles to show the twists

  15. Love the first image and how the trunks lead up into the distorted? crown. Great shot.

  16. Tree shots are so much harder than it would seem. These are nice, I like the feeling of movement, how my eye is drawn right up the trunk to “the wilds.” Nice post.

  17. …eeeap. I missed these fabby images…these are magical Candace. Love the trees and the angle of these images.

  18. wow!
    now THAT is a tree!
    thanks for sharing this link, lady.

    i have not been over here in so long. so sorry about that. i have not been blog visiting nearly as much these days. it’s good to visit. hopefully i can do that more soon.

    hope all is well.

  19. Pingback: Hometree Halved « Glenrosa Journeys

Leave a Reply

