Happy!

What’s happier and more summery than a sunflower?

I know! A sunflower with a bee! (If you click on the photo to make it larger, you can see him/her better.)

And the promise of a whole bunch more to come! I stumbled upon several sunflower plants in the alley a few houses down. Only a couple have bloomed already but there are plenty more buds. I think you’ll be seeing some more sunflowers here.

If it were not for Terry at Montana Outdoors, I would have kept thinking of these little yellow flowers that I photographed a couple of weeks ago in the desert as mini-sunflowers. As it turns out, they are really part of the sunflower family and are called western groundsels.

Don’t they make you happy just to look at them?

Happy Mother’s Day, happy weekend!

11 responses to “Happy!

  1. Sunflowers are very beautiful.

  2. Those are very nice shots! Personally, I’m glad that the sunflower family is so large!

  3. you captured a bee right there having lunch..just beautiful shades and shapes of yellow…happy weekend!

  4. Yes! Very happy flowers 🙂
    & the yellow of those groundsels against the bright blue background is GORGEOUS – those colours make me very happy 🙂

  5. I learn something new every day…and today was one of those with your explanation and naming of the tiny flowers. Nice series. They do look happy!

  6. The yellow and the blue of 4,5,6 looks awesome!

  7. We have those small “sunflowers” also, they are so nice. Fields will be full of them.
    Love this series…yellow is a happy color.

  8. I couldn’t agree more – sunflowers are just very happy. Hope you had a lovely Sunday. 🙂

  9. Don’t worry look at a Sunflower and be happy. Someone should write a song. Cool shots!

  10. Great shots. I look forward to seeing more sunflowers and I learned something too… Thanks!

  11. Yes, they make me happy, I love sunflowers! Love, love, love the contrast deep blue & yellow shots!

Leave a Reply

