Collaborations and Congratulations

When I was photographing the mural in my last post, I came across this old church nearby, the Phoenix First Congregational United Church of Christ. I liked the way the simple lines of the white spire looked against the blue sky. It reminds me of something that you would see in New England.

I’ve mentioned photojojo’s forums before and some of the “games” that the participants play. One is called Diptych Daredevils, where someone posts a photo and then someone else pairs one of theirs with it to make a diptych. Here’s a couple recent ones.

Don posted the lighthouse on the left and I paired it with my lighthouse on the right (from South Haven, MI). I then posted the photo on the right below (of Brophy Prep in Phoenix) and Don–because no one else was biting–paired it with his photo on the left which, coincidentally, is a church I am very familiar with in Sedona, AZ…the Chapel of the Holy Cross…a well-known landmark. I don’t know if he even knows I’m from Arizona, he’s not.

So, I wanted to take this opportunity to mention the recent accomplishments of two of my blogging friends. Camilla of Bloom is prominently featured in the current edition (Autumn 2010) of Artful Blogging, a gorgeous magazine that finds the best of the artistic blogs. Camilla lives an artful life in rural Montana. She is not only an excellent photographer but also beautifully sews, knits, crochets, dyes wool, homeschools her 4 children, and a myriad of other things. You can see a little of her article here. I’m ordering my copy online because I don’t know where to find it locally.

Then a young, local blogger, who is one of the first bloggers I got to “know,” AfricanKelli, has just published her first novel, Under the Same Moon. She is having a book signing in a couple of weeks at one of our large indie bookstores and I plan to be there to finally meet her in person! Kelli is a former Peace Corps volunteer, public health worker, photographer, cook, seamstress, knitter, and can do just about any craft there is, expertly. I’m really excited for her.

And…I am now blogging about my mural series for Downtown Phoenix Partnership.

Proud to blog for Downtown Phoenix

5 thoughts on “Collaborations and Congratulations

  1. I like the steeple for the same reason you took the shot. I enjoyed reading about your diptych game. Nice to link to these excellent blogger’s sites.

  2. Candace, congrats on your blogging gig with Downtown Phoenix Partnership! It’s good to see your mural series is getting the exposure it deserves. The diptych series looks like a great challenge and a lot of fun too.

  3. candace do you see me standing up and applauding ?
    Well I am … such a wonderful series and to be recognized in this way is a delight…so happy for you AND Phoenix!!

  4. So well deserved Candace.
    You have such an eye for the “interesting” and I like your writing. This is so great and I think they are very luck to have you onboard.

Leave a Reply

