Chester’s Garage

In another (not as established nor as cool, in my opinion) arts district in central Phoenix, the Melrose District, is this iconic building, Chester’s Garage. There are a lot of shops and boutiques, some restaurants, clubs, a coffeehouse, a few galleries but it’s more of a funky neighborhood. However, Chester’s was there before it was hip.

Take a look inside…


Melrose on Seventh does have a cool and quirky annual street fair and Chester’s always has a bunch of classic cars on display. In fact, this street fair won the Phoenix New Times Award for Best Neighborhood Street Festival 2009 recently. I think it is an autumn event, coming soon. Edit: I guess it’s a spring festival so I missed it.

7 responses to “Chester’s Garage

  1. That seems familiar, but I can’t quite place it. Memory fails. I like the mural on the door!

  2. That mural is cool. I’m not sure if I’ve mentioned this, but my ex and his new wife are now residents of Phoenix. They could be your neighbor!

  3. PS. I really like that last image!!

  4. I loved the peek inside 🙂

  5. yay for cool chester!! I like the reflection in the shades!

  6. Another very interesting series on these inner-city areas that have made themselves distinctive and are able to draw lots of people. Well done.

  7. I have no idea where this is! Lovely photos.

Leave a Reply

