Concentration

Now that I’m becoming an “old pro” at mural-hunting, it’s a little like the old Concentration game. I keep coming across muralists whose work I’ve seen before and recognize either by the style or by their signature. Where was the other one(s) by this person?

This one, in the heart of the Roosevelt Row arts district (at Pravus Gallery), was done by “Elmac Kofie.” See the signature on the upper left above. I know I’ve seen that name before.

Oh, yeah, I saw it a mile or 2 away a couple of weeks ago in another section of the arts district (Grand Avenue). And now that I look at both of them, they look very similar to one I blogged about at Zao Gallery recently.

Yes, down there on the left side, amidst her hair, is “Elmac.” The signature is a little different but the style is the same. This was a couple blocks away from the one above it. And back to the one above it:

Next to the Elmac mural is one by Lalo Cota, who I wrote about in my Calaveras post, including this one by him above. Murals at 3 different locations were shown in that post and now here is another one by Lalo, distinct by its style:

This van is outside a coffeehouse/boutique called Conspire. The walls of Conspire have more murals by Lalo.

It’s pretty fun getting accustomed to their styles and coming across them all over downtown Phoenix. Every time I go out to photograph a mural, I seem to see or hear about some other ones. This project could go on for a long time.

Here are some other shots I took while wandering around the area shown above, close to Roosevelt Row. It will give you an idea of what our downtown arts district looks like: mostly old houses and warehouses slowly being converted to galleries, shops, and restaurants: quaint, and in constant transition.

The above building is next to Conspire. I’m not sure if it’s in the process of becoming a business or what but I didn’t want to trespass to see if I could find a signature on its mural.

The next photo is of a typical house in this area and it had some permits in the windows for renovation work so I imagine it will be a new business soon. I love the look of it. If only I could have a studio, this is what I would like. Just half of it would do.

It’s right next to a shop called MADE, where most items are handmade, and is surrounded by many galleries.

Maybe you can get a little of the local flavor from these photos. If you have any interest in seeing all the central Phoenix mural photos I’ve taken (to date), here is the link:

Glenrosa Journeys murals

Edit: Wendyvee of the totally awesome Roadside Wonders was kind enough (and better at googling than I was) to send me this link to Elmac‘s blog. Kofie is his friend so the first mural shown is a collaboration. Too cool.

14 responses to “Concentration

  1. These just keep getting better! The top one is my new favorite. I’m not surprised that it is by the same artist … because the Salon mural was my previous favorite.

  2. You are doing a terrific job showing these murals! It’s so interesting, and I really like what they are doing. It has been a long time since lived there, but I don’t remember any of this back then. I view it as a very nice development in those areas!

  3. I’m love love loving this series. Did I say that already? Oh well…your glimpses at downtown Phx are fun, unique and inspired! Keep it up!

  4. Me gusta como te han queado las fotos con un muy buen color y una luz genial.

    Saludos

  5. I really like Elmac’s work and your work as well. Excellent shots!

  6. Preciosos grafitis!!

    saludos!!

  7. Wow, lots of catching up for me to do! Love your mural series & I wish you could have that cool old house for your studio too!

  8. You are on such an interesting path, chronicling modern art in your city… go you!

  9. I continue to be amazed at that professional artists would feel comfortable with their art work exposed to the weather and graffiti gremlins. You’ve added some excellent murals with today’s post. Now I must check out the links.

  10. I very much like what you’ve done with your blog!

  11. Pingback: Phoenix Goddess « Glenrosa Journeys

  12. Great pics, and thanks for sharing these! I’m becoming a fan of murals/graffiti murals and hope to photograph some of these, as I am not far from Phoenix. Great job documenting all of these!

  13. Candace:

    I’d like to use, and credit your photo of the El Mac Mural on Hair Expressions that was buffed with eggplant paint several months ago. I am recording Phoenix street art and adding the location using a GPS. I’d like to show the What Was and the what is, to record the Mac art around town and give you global credit for the capture.

    chris (tceng)
    http://www.panoramio.com/user/4447772

  14. Pingback: Calle 16 Flourishes « Glenrosa Journeys

Leave a Reply

