Phoenix Public Market

Downtown Phoenix has a public market every Saturday morning and Wednesday evening where you can find a lot of local produce, food items, and arts and crafts. They also have their own mural on a building that faces the parking lot.

It’s a little tamer and more hohum than most of the others I’ve photographed. I couldn’t find a signature and I don’t know anything about it. I like the lizard most of all.

The Downtown Phoenix Public Market is a program of  Community Food Connections, a 501 c 3 non-profit organization. “The Market marks the spot where community revitalization, economic development and a showcase for local small-scale agriculture and local artists and crafters intersect in the heart of the city…”

Since I’m not that thrilled with this mural, remember the train mural I blogged about a couple of weeks ago? At the time, I wrote that Tony recognized it from a poster he had seen. Well, he found the poster online so here it is compared with the 3-D mural.

The poster is a 1922 advertisement for La Victoria Arduino espresso by Leonetto Cappiello, an Italian poster art designer living in Paris. He is often referred to as “the father of modern advertising” because of his innovation in poster design.

Looking at his poster, I now realize that the cup is missing on the mural where the man’s outstretched hand is, so this mural has sustained some damage. Unfortunately, the building is vacant so I don’t know if anyone will care enough to have it repaired. Hopefully someday.

5 thoughts on “Phoenix Public Market

  1. Candace, your mural photos and descriptions are always interesting and serve to put Phoenix in a very good light! If I were still in that area I would have to look very closely at down town again!

  2. Very interesting to hear of your local market and meeting crossroads for artists and others around the city. Nice to see the original art and the mural.

  3. I really like reading and seeing how you showcase your towns local art. I love seeing it thru your eyes. It’s really fun to see all the different styles of murals.The last shot is pretty amazing, nice detective work Candace.

Leave a Reply

