I Never Promised You…

…a rose garden. This is a rose garden that my Thursday “Peanut Butter in the Park” co-worker and I saw last week on our lunch hour. It’s at Scottsdale Civic Center, which is close to where we work. I usually take my point and shoot with me and I’m glad I did. Do you know which had the sweetest scent? The solid lavender ones on the top right followed by the lavender-tinged white ones on the lower left.

I beg your pardon I never promised you a rose garden
Along with the sunshine there’s gotta be a little rain sometime
When you take you gotta give so live and let live and let go oh oh oh oh
I beg your pardon I never promised you a rose garden

Speaking of roses, the above photo is the front of the invitation to our wedding reception. Although we got married 2 weeks ago (today), our party isn’t until next weekend. It seemed easier to do it all in stages. I intentionally applied a texture to the photo to make it look soft, muted, and old-fashioned. Some people apparently “got” it and others didn’t, I guess, and thought they were poor photocopies. Nope, it looks the way I intended on the invitation and I was pleased with the printing (Ritz Camera). I’ve found that working hard at a party you are giving opens you up to criticism from some of those invited. That is just one example of the comments people have shared with me in the last few days. Sweet, huh? I realize I should just consider the source and be a little tougher but that isn’t one of my strong points. So I’m trying to become re-enthused about our upcoming party.

And, sorry, I don’t usually put negative personal stuff on my blog but I couldn’t resist a little rant.

5 responses to “I Never Promised You…

  1. Beautiful roses! My mother grew many roses when I was a child and I developed a love for them that I still have today.

    You did an outstanding job with the photo on your invitation! I understood and appreciated immediately what you intended with that image: it is beautifully done!

  2. I like the rose collection….glad you had the point-and-shoot with you. The invitation looks great in my little opinion. When you are pleased with the result…that’s all that really matters. Some naysayers will “take a shot” because it’s a habit with them…they always come off negatively.

  3. oh how exciting to have a marriage reception/party!! I really think the rose photo is just perfect for the invite…ranting is allowed you know!! poor photocopiers ..makes me laugh ..obviously they didnt get it…

    have fun!!

  4. I know I’ve been gone awhile, but let me say: CONGRATULATIONS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  5. Pingback: Whirlpool « Glenrosa Journeys

Leave a Reply

