Dog Days

It’s the dog days of summer here. We had a beautiful spring, that was actually differentiated from summer, but that is over. We’re back in it for the long haul now until October. It still is cooling off at night but not for long and, in a couple of weeks, it will get humid, too. So, while most peeps in this hemisphere are out and about and photographing things, if that’s what they like to do, here it takes a concerted effort to go out shooting.

These photos were taken a couple of weeks ago, at Scottsdale Civic Center, the park I go to sometimes at lunch, close to my work, but not close enough now with the heat. This space has rotating art exhibits. This installation is called Anthropomorphic Bicyclist: A Kinetic Weathervane by John Randall Nelson. This is how he describes it:

A new form, a cyclist who becomes one with the bike, joyfully revolves amongst altered signs on the orange wall. Made with re-Cycled (pun intended) traffic signs salvaged from the Scottsdale Transportation Department, the signs and symbols are both ambiguous and familiar. The iconic folk art style of the forms and the imagery of re-imagined bicycles and signs touch on social dexterity and creativity as a means of crossing boundaries. Taken as a group the images take on the sense of a day dream, of a blue sky ride.

As most of my photos taken during work hours are, these were taken with my cute little point and shoot that goes almost everywhere with me. The Casio Exilim EX-S200 has 14 megapixels. My Nikon D80 only has 10.2 megapixels. So, does that mean the p&s takes better photos? Um, no, but we knew that. Here is my comparison to vouch for that. Both cameras were set on auto, autofocus. The photos were taken seconds apart from the same vantage point.

Above was taken with the Nikon DSLR. Below I used the Casio p&s. Enlarging makes the differences in quality more dramatic. So, it’s not all in the megapixels but we knew that. At any rate, I’m glad I have the little Casio because there are plenty of shots I never would have been able to take without it.

4 thoughts on “Dog Days

  1. Wow, that’s an excellent comparison! And the reason why I carry my heavy old D80 everywhere I go. Boy, do I remember those summer days in Phoenix. I really don’t think I could handle that again. Today it got up to 82 and that was very uncomfortable.

  2. I like the art work. Your comparison is a vivid example of the differences in cameras. I have the same experience with my point-and-shoot. It’s with me and my DSLR is usually at home unless I’m on a trip or some special occasion when I’ll gladly put up with the increased weight and size. It took me a long time to decide I would always have a camera on me, but it has been a very good decision.

  3. Interesting camera comparison. Lately, I’ve gotten so I take my DSLR with me whenever I go out. With me, it’s a matter of habit and I’m often very glad it’s along:) Love the color in the Hibiscus – such a lovely flower!

  4. i only have a point and shoot ..love the ease of it and as for the weather I can TOTALLY understand …but we are smiling in the winter, right !!

Leave a Reply

