King of Herbs

Basil Butter
1 stick butter, softened
1 or 2 cloves garlic, minced
1 tsp. lemon juice
1/4 tsp. salt
pepper to taste
1 tablespoon finely chopped basil

Cream butter, beat in garlic and lemon juice. Mash in basil; season with salt and pepper. Place bowl in refrigerator to firm butter. For a nice, simple appetizer use room temperature butter on grilled pieces of baguette or French bread.

Yum, that sounds good…and easy. I finally “get” it about growing your own food and this basil plant is really the only thing we’ve successfully grown and used. I’ve never had a garden and, with 10 outdoor cats and several other neighborhood cats, it might not be a great idea but I do love checking the progress of this potted basil plant, grown from seed. I haven’t pinched the flowers off like you’re supposed to because I thought it was too cool to see it flower. Basil likes it sunny and dry and that is certainly our summer weather in AZ. Next…some other herbs.

More basil info here.

As an aside, what kind of jerky photographer am I? On Tuesday night, I saw the most dramatic weather event I have ever seen, a gigantic haboob rushing toward and then engulfing us and it was only after it had passed, quite awhile later, that I even thought about my camera and wondered why I hadn’t used it. You’ve probably seen photos of it but if not, check out this video. It was extremely dramatic, not the most violent dust storm I’ve ever been in, but certainly the most eerie, visually stunning, and exciting one.

6 thoughts on “King of Herbs

  1. I thought about you when I saw the haboob (who names these things???) on the news! It looked miserable. I’m glad you’re okay. It makes my eyes itch just thinking about it. Maybe it was a good thing you didn’t get out your camera. Maybe the dust would have gotten in it.

    Love the basil butter idea! You’ll have to keep us updated on your little garden!

    Like

  2. I also thought about you when I saw the footage of that big storm. We actually got some fairly good coverage of it here. I remember those: I was in one between Phoenix and Tucson one day that had a thunderstorm with it and it rained mud balls. I quite enjoyed the monsoon season though.

    Like

  3. I saw the video of this approaching storm and thought it must have been scary to wonder what that much dust in the air would do…to your breathing and everything else. I’ve never had basil butter…sounds interesting.

    Like

  4. I really need to plant some basil on our patio. I’m intimidated because I have a black thumb of death but everything I’ve read says that basil grows really well here. Yours looks delicious!

    Like

Leave a Reply

