Adios, El Maya

Remember this? My imaginary vacation to the Yucatan in June? A mere month ago? This unusual architecture?

It was an abandoned restaurant, built in 1964, originally called El Maya, although it was a couple of other restaurants/clubs after that.

This is what it looked like then. Now this is what it looks like:

Yup, it’s gone. About 2 weeks after I took those shots, it was torn down. Although it’s not far from where I live, I hadn’t driven in that direction so I didn’t know about it until the granddaughter of the man who built, designed, and originally owned it, Claudio Corral (along with his sons and other family members), left a comment on my blog post. She said the construction manager of the new project located my blog for her as the family did not know the demolition was going to occur and they really had no photos of the original building. She asked if I would send her mine so that she could post them on Facebook for the rest of her family to see. Of course, I was happy to do it and sad for them. It’s too bad they couldn’t have had some of the pieces that her grandfather made. Her aunt also left a comment on that blog post, giving me a little more history of El Maya. I am really happy I took the photos as I had been meaning to for about the last year but never got around to it.

Their family does still own another landmark restaurant in Old Town Scottsdale, Los Olivos, also built by Mr. Corral and his family. It’s very close to where I work so one of these days I’ll take some photos there as it, too, has some very unusual architectural elements.

So, goodbye, El Maya, a landmark on a busy intersection for almost 50 years.

I’m sure all of you who have blogs have been contacted now and then about some of your photos that interest or mean something to other people. I’ve had a few incidents like that occur and it has always pleased and flattered me and made me happy I have a blog. How about you, do you have any interesting stories you’d like to share about people who have found your photos through your blogs?

13 responses to “Adios, El Maya

  1. Wow, so sad that it was demolished … but what serendipity that you took those pics!

  2. Janette Corral

    Candace, what a great blog update on El Maya. As the commenter above said, it really is serendipitous that you took those photos. We are very thankful for you and your camera! 🙂 I can’t wait to see what you post about Los Olivos.

    • Hugo López Ochoa

      Janette:
      I knew, from my grandmother, Francisca Corral Cervantes, the only daugher of Tomas Corral who didn´t fled to Arizona, about the existence of Los Olivos, El Maya and Hacienda Corral. Two days ago, my brother Enrique and I (Hugo) enter the web looking for Mexican restaurants in Scottdale, and what a beatifull surprise.We found this blog.I hope we will met all of you guy´s, very soon, in Escatel.
      And, Candace: Thank you very much!!.
      Hugo López Ochoa, grand grandson of Tomas and Cecilia Corral, living in Hermosillo, Sonora.
      email: hlochoa@gmail.com

  3. I remember El Maya and I’m very sad to see it go! I also remember Los Olivos very well. I’ve been there many times and loved it when I lived there!

  4. I’m glad you were able to provide the family with some nice pictures of the building. It had some very unusual features.
    A fine series of shots.

  5. Thanks for this blog or I wouldn’t have known it was torn down! Glad you took pics of it before it was! Looking forward to your pics of Los Olivos [NOT the car wash!]! 😉

  6. Your photos look like you been on to far away lands on a fancy vacation! Nice that you were able to document this bit of architecture.

  7. Ok, that sentence got messed up. Let’s try again – Your photos look like you’ve been to far away lands on a fancy vacation! – that’s better 🙂

  8. Candace:Visiting your blog prompts me to say-our daughter and son in law the violin and guitar ensemble Duo46 (Beth and Matt Gould) will perform several of their commissioned works with 3 Friends July27,2011 at the Phoenix Art Museum. For details about the concert,visit http://www.downtownchamberseries.org/concerts.htm
    For information about Duo46,visit http://www.duo46.com

    • Hi, Bob. I also emailed you. We always attend and love Downtown Chamber Series and were, in fact, at the Sunday performance. It was great so I urge anyone in the Phoenix area who is reading this to attend the 2nd performance on 7/27. You get way more than your money’s worth with Downtown Chamber Series!

  9. Pingback: Los Olivos « Glenrosa Journeys

  10. What is the connection betwen this El Maya and the one that was near 24th Ave on West Glendale?

Leave a Reply

