Day of the Dead

I’m posting this just as it becomes Halloween. Halloween and the Day of the Dead are not related but they both involve the Christian All Saints’ Day (on November 1) and All Souls’ Day (on November 2). In a city like Phoenix, with a strong Mexican tradition, Halloween and Día de los Muertos sort of get thrown together. In most regions of Mexico, November 1 honors children and infants, whereas deceased adults are honored on November 2. This is indicated by generally referring to November 1 mainly as Día de los Inocentes (“Day of the Innocents”)  and November 2 as Día de los Muertos (“Day of the Dead”). It’s not really a sad event but more of a celebration of past lives and it’s not supposed to be a scary day either but some people not familiar with the holiday do find the skulls and skeletons a little creepy. But you probably know all this…

I love Day of the Dead art so I was happy to notice this sculpture on a business just about a 1/2 mile from my house. Since it’s on a busy street and also on the roof of the building, I could never get a good look at it while driving by and I thought it was a pioneer woman or something.

That didn’t make sense because it’s on a Mexican tile business.

Finally, one day I got a good look as I was able to slow down while passing by.

Cool! A Day of the Dead sculpture close to home! You can imagine my excitement.

I hope you didn’t get too scared, haha. I know I said it’s not supposed to be a spooky holiday but I couldn’t resist.

I didn’t get to any official celebrations of Day of the Dead this weekend but I did go back to Calle 16, which I wrote about again a few days ago (the first photo is from there). Today there were no cars so I was able to get some unobstructed views of the murals portraying Day of the Dead art.

She’s really beautiful, I think.

And he’s pretty handsome (both by Lalo Cota). These 2 additional murals by Lalo that I just recently photographed and blogged about are some of my favorites.

Here’s another shot at Calle 16, taken today.

The best part of all this is that Phoenix is pretty much filled with Day of the Dead art all year long.

So…Happy Halloween or Feliz Día de los Muertos, whichever you celebrate…or both. I did read an article where some people were claiming you should not wish someone a Happy Day of the Dead but several other people, including Mexicans, said they do it. So…

Sugar Skulls by Irma Sanchez at Perc Up, a local coffeehouse.

7 responses to “Day of the Dead

  1. I’ve been looking forward to seeing you post on this: I knew you would post one. The photos are excellent; you just keep on getting better, and i really like your treatment of the holidays! Outstanding post!

  2. You’ve done a fine job of presenting the Day of the Dead in a variety of ways. Excellent pictures of the art work and that sculpture that is something else! Fine post.

  3. I love these! You’ve done such a great job capturing them, especially all the beautiful colors!

  4. I didn’t know all the info that you related about Day of the Dead and Day of the Innocents. So very interesting! Great imagery in this post, too! Thanks.

  5. I love the metal witch, great design! The wall paintings are great too! Very colorful and creepy!

  6. Pingback: Covet « Glenrosa Journeys

  7. wow! that is a super cool animation! scary cool!!! you are the second one this week to add a sort of creepy animation. too bad this isn’t halloween week. you’ll have to add it again this coming october… if i’m still doing moving pictures then.

    all these photos are scary. looks like a neat place!

    thanks for contributing this week! hope to see you monday!

Leave a Reply

