It’s 2012!

Let’s hope it’s a year which will…

Here’s a slideshow of Dale Chihuly‘s dazzling glass sculpture installation, Desert Towers, which is part of the permanent collection at Phoenix’s Desert Botanical Gardens.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Happy New Year to everyone!

If you think the Mayans might be on to something, you can countdown on my Mayan End of Calendar page, listed in the sidebar, under “Pages.”

11 responses to “It’s 2012!

  1. Those sculptures are sure interesting! As far as the Mayan predictions, well, their civilization didn’t turn out so well for them and I will be very surprised if their predictions will either.

  2. I love Chihuly. We were gazing at the piece at the VandA on Friday. It has such joy and freedom.

  3. Dear Candace, I wish you a very happy new year and best wishes for you and your family in 2012!!

    Jürgen

    Wonderful designs! At first I thought that it was a desert plant for real, wonderful creation!

  4. That is very interesting form of art work. Pretty and a bit dangerous looking. I hope you have a great new year.

  5. happy new year!! sure enjoyed seeing the sculpture..very artistic

  6. Wow! What a spectacular piece of sculpture.

  7. i love his sculptures. the ones i am used to are the colorful ones… i love the natural color of this one.
    happy new year, my friend.
    XO

  8. I love these photos. I like the kitties in the Santa hat too. Happy New Year!

  9. Zoe @ Pantry and Fridge

    I love these sculptures and can you believe I’ve never been there!! I know, I know…. I need to go see them for myself!
    Thank you for sharing.
    HAPPY NEW YEAR!!

  10. Wow, I thought these were real plants.

    Steve Schwartzman
    http://portraitsofwildflowers.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

