Lent 2012 (CAOK)

So, it’s Lent now. And people keep asking me what I’m giving up. Nothing. I was brought up as a Lutheran and we never did that. I understand why some people do it, to make some sort of sacrifice, but I like another tradition of Lent better…almsgiving. “It is a sign of our care for those in need and an expression of our gratitude for all that God has given to us” (from here).

My blogging friend, Kelli, has a Lenten tradition, called Calculated Acts of Kindness (CAOK) that she observes every year. She is a very talented person, who cooks, sews, bakes, knits, crafts, so she gives gifts of herself all year long but does make a special calculated effort during Lent to do even more. I had already decided to do something along those lines this year and I was thinking of writing some notes to people I’ve been out of touch with or sending cards to people I’ve been thinking of or sending some mailart, particularly some photos I’ve taken, to various friends and family…at least one correspondence a day for 46 days. Therefore, I was surprised when I read her blog yesterday and saw that she, too, is concentrating on correspondence this Lent…sending a thank you note to someone she appreciates, keeping in touch with someone she misses…you get the idea. And who doesn’t like to get mail or a handwritten note now and then.

Of course, it’s nice to do things for others any time of the year and I’m sure that we all do but, for me, it seems beneficial to make a concerted effort for these 46 days, to give up a little of my time and a tiny bit of effort, to let someone know I’m thinking of them. You can grab Kelli’s CAOK button if you want to participate.

CAOK Button

Says Father Rodney E. Thibault,“We are only going to get out of Lent what we put into it. When we are that joyful giver, we are going to be joyfully rewarded” (from here).

And don’t forget my giveaway, there are still a couple days left to enter. The more, the merrier!

*My hibiscus is loving the mild winter, early spring and sprouting tons of buds, blooms, and flowers.

6 responses to “Lent 2012 (CAOK)

  1. You are awesome. Thank you Candace!

  2. The hibiscus looks great with its detail and rich color. Your Lent idea seems like a very good one.

  3. Candace, these are just beautiful!
    I especially love the cheerfully bright color.
    Sending you wishes for a wonderful weekend.

  4. The other day I read a post about Lent that you might like to read too:

    http://thedailyround.wordpress.com/2012/02/22/coming-back-to-earth/

  5. Loved this take on Lent! Have enjoyed browsing through your site, Candace!

Leave a Reply

