The Strawberry Jar

While walking around the Casa (shown in my last post) a few days ago, one of the many gorgeous things I saw was this terracotta pot filled with cacti. I thought it was so pretty and~since I am always looking for plants that can survive the brutal Arizona summers~I thought this would be the perfect solution for our front porch when almost everything else is withering.

I went home and googled pots until I found one like this and learned it’s a strawberry jar. Since I had to have one I looked online and ordered a smaller version, one with only 4 “pockets.” It was delivered to my house Friday while I was at work so, on the way home, I stopped at my favorite nursery and stocked up on some cacti for my own strawberry jar:

Enough for every pocket and the top opening. So I took my little cacti home and opened my strawberry jar. Oh-oh.

Mine has teeny-tiny pocket openings, not wide ones like the one at the Casa. They’re too narrow for the already small cacti I bought. So now I have 4 cacti, one succulent, and a strawberry jar. I need another container to make a cactus garden and I need something to put in my strawberry jar. Strawberries? Ivy and coleus? Herbs? I looked online and saw photos of all those different plants in strawberry jars but I’m not sure how well they would fare in the stifling Phoenix summer. Any ideas?

*The funny white cactus sticking out of the strawberry jar is called a Peruvian Old Man (espostoa lanata). I looked that up when I got home, too.

7 thoughts on “The Strawberry Jar

  1. Hi Candace 🙂

    What a great idea! I love your little pot, too bad it won’t work for this but you might try to find some Elephant Foot sometimes called Elephant Ear. It’s a succulent that does well in our climates, both the hot and cold. 🙂 I have a large strawberry pot that I grow it in because I couldn’t get strawberries to grow in it :/ You might already know what it is or maybe you’ve seen it and just didn’t know it’s name. It can be clipped and transplanted directly into wet soil. Try Lowe’s or HD for the pot and the plant. I’ve worked at both and got them at one of them, I can’t remember which one. 🙂

    Hope I helped 😀 Happy planting!

    Like

    1. Funny you should mention Elephant Foot. My neighbor has a huge one, maybe 4-5 feet tall, in his front yard that he just transplanted from another location so I just saw it the other day for the first time. And then I looked them up online and saw that they are also called Ponytail plants. Well, I have a little ponytail plant inside that I’ve had for years and I didn’t realize it’s the same plant as his huge one. I can see how they would look good in the strawberry jar. Thanks for the suggestion!

      Like

  2. Every time I come back from Arizona I go on a cactus buying binge. I love the things and cannot get enough of them. Even here in the northeast. I keep them inside in winter of course, but in summer they thrive on my balcony. If I ever get to live out west I will have zillions of them I think.

    Like

  3. I love these jars! I have a largish one, and I plant gazania and portulaca in mine – both plants that take heat pretty well and don’t care to be too wet. I am in upstate NY though, so I am not sure a porch in Arizona would make them happy. I think even with those small pocket you might find sedums small enough to work and they do well in them. And thanks for the submission to GardenStalking – we appreciate it!

    Like

Leave a comment