Arizona Wildflowers

You belong among the wildflowers,
You belong somewhere close to me.
Far away from your trouble and worry,
You belong somewhere you feel free.
~Tom Petty, Wildflowers

A postcard from Arizona…

Come to beautiful Arizona this time of year, when the African Daisies (as well as Arizona Poppies) are growing wild. Some people have their yards filled with them, some of the median strips in the streets are full of them…the scent of citrus and other flowers is in the air and, at night, you can still smell mesquite burning in fireplaces…as you drive down the streets of the 6th largest city in the US…you pretty much either love it or hate it here (I’m in the former category).

To see a world in a grain of sand
And a Heaven in a wild flower,
Hold Infinity in the palm of your hand
And Eternity in an hour.
~William Blake, Auguries of Innocence

6 thoughts on “Arizona Wildflowers

  1. I love the photos. I love Arizona. I hope to live there some day…….I find the desert mysterious and intriguing. Glad you are finally getting spring. Now you are warm and we are back to the cold.

  2. These are gorgeous wild flowers. I think I would like the smell of the mesquite wafting in the evening air! I know I get tired of the many, many cold or very cool days and nights we have here. The crocuses are just now appearing.

Leave a Reply

