B-Flies in the ‘Hood

Last year, in my yard, I got a Variegated Fritillary, some Skippers, and right down the alley, some Giant Swallowtails. This year I’m starting earlier and have a new one that I had to identify on the internet. These photos are of a Painted Lady!

There may have been 2. They’re fast and they’re hungry! Once again, as last year, they’re loving the lantana.

So I wrote another bad haiku in their honor:

Probing proboscis
Guzzles sweet nectar juices
Happy butterfly

And the Skippers are back, too! And probing. You can see their proboscises better by clicking on the photos.

9 responses to “B-Flies in the ‘Hood

  1. All that probing makes this kind of a sexy post! 😉

    Beautiful photos. Butterflies really do put a smile on my face every single time one flutters around.

  2. Gorgeous photos, life is so beautiful and even more with butterflies around!

  3. I am so jealous of your lantana. Pennsylvania isn’t the best place to raise them 😦

    I tried twice to bring them inside for the winter but killed them both times. Now I just have to admire them from afar.

  4. Very nice photos! I’m starting to see a few butterflies here now too.

  5. A beautiful series. You do the closer in work very well. Nice detail and color.

  6. These are really beautiful Candace!
    I love the bright spring colors in each of them.

  7. Hi Candace,
    Lucky you, butterflies already! You have to be fast to catch those gems. Love the interesting markings on the Painted Lady. Obviously how she got her name.
    Spring in n WI is spelled crazy, as we got snow yesterday! So, enjoy that wonderful spring that you have:)

  8. Hello. Ur photos are cativating. Will be back for more. Visit my blog too! 🙂

  9. How beautiful! You don’t need to go to the butterfly exhibit when you have this going on in your backyard! 🙂

Leave a Reply

