Hometree Halved

A little over two years ago, I wrote a blog post titled Hometree. We had just seen the movie Avatar shortly before and then I came upon this tree in a little greenbelt close to our bank. It’s an odd area, amidst office buildings, with no benches or other comforts to encourage anyone to visit there but it’s very lovely. Maybe it’s just meant to be appreciated as you drive by but I like to stop there from time to time.

Anyway, this Hometree is a mammoth mesquite tree with huge, winding, gnarled limbs wrapping around each other and even wrapping around limbs in adjacent trees. A few weeks ago, Tony and I stopped there after going to the bank because he had never seen Hometree up close. Poor Hometree looked pretty sickly, dead limbs, dried leaves. In fact, several of the mesquite trees looked pretty bad even though the grass is plush and well-watered.

Then, about 2 weeks ago, I drove by and glanced at Hometree and half of her was gone! I took my camera back a couple days later and documented what is left.

I think the largest of the two main limbs is what was removed.

A little bit of a difference, huh?

She still has a certain grace but not the majesty she once had.

This one, below, is Hometree’s partner tree, also thinned out. Hometree’s branches (on the upper right side of the photo) still reach toward and intertwine with the other tree’s limbs.

I’m glad they are attempting to save the trees rather than cut them down, though.

You can see that there were several more large limbs removed.

Hang in there, Hometree.

Can You Imagine?
For example, what the trees do
not only in lightening storms
or the watery dark of a summer’s night
or under the white nets of winter
but now, and now, and now – whenever
we’re not looking.  Surely you can’t imagine
they don’t dance, from the root up, wishing
to travel a little, not cramped so much as wanting
a better view, or more sun, or just as avidly
more shade – surely you can’t imagine they just
stand there loving every
minute of it, the birds or the emptiness, the dark rings
of the years slowly and without a sound
thickening, and nothing different unless the wind,
and then only in its own mood, comes
to visit, surely you can’t imagine
patience, and happiness, like that.
~ Mary Oliver ~
6 responses to “Hometree Halved

  1. That was a wonderful tree and it’s sad that it encountered problems, but it’s good that they tried to save it.

  2. So sad to see when that happens. We have some really old Beech trees in an area that the town takes really good care of (the area is called “Longwood Mall”. It was designed by Frederick Law Olmstead. A couple of years ago they had to remove one of the trees. it had fallen over and part of it took root. It was really unusual as well as humongous but I guess they decided it was dangerous as well.

  3. It’s a shame about that pretty tree. However, it’s better that it be saved as you mention.

  4. It was saddening to see the change. I wonder if the removal was done to remove a diseased portion..I would hope there was some real reason for this mutilation. Nice series of such a venerable tree.

  5. Oh, Candace!! This is just massively sad! Personally, I’ve believed for a long time that it’s a sin to cut down a tree. They put so much energy into growing in the first place. We never get a Christmas tree unless it’s potted and can be transplanted later.

    This belief came about because I had a Flowering Plum in my yard and didn’t like it because of the dark purple leaves. I had my gardener take it out and replace it with a Raywood ash while I was at work. I came home to find a nice green-leafed tree in front of the window, but in a neatly-stacked pile in the street was…wood that was pink all the way through with a darker pink right in the middle. It broke my heart.

    I suppose on the positive side now there is a place to sit. But oh, what a loss! I love the poem. It reminds me of a line from the song Colors of the Wind in the movie Pocahontas…”How high can the sycamore grow? If you cut it down, then you’ll never know.”

Leave a Reply

