Amber Glow

Let’s pretend for a minute that this is resin from a coniferous tree, not sap from a coniferous tree…although maybe some of it is resin, I’m not sure. This is our Goldwater Pine (thank you, Montucky, for the ID). Well, if it is resin, then maybe in a few tens of millions of years it will become amber, which is fossilized resin from prehistoric pine trees.

I only recently got “into” amber and gave it much thought. I love jewelry in general so I thought that, over these hot summer months in Phoenix, when it can be hard to get motivated to go out and shoot, I might show you some of my jewelry collection. I’m not going to show you my sparkly kitty necklaces, which I do have (and wear and love), or those sorts of things but, rather, jewelry that is interesting in some way…antique, vintage, rough-stoned, ethnic, with a story, that sort of stuff…and that should cover a lot of posts.

I bought this lovely necklace and earrings at the Musical Instrument Museum, a gorgeous place with awesome acoustics, where we recently attended a concert (museum gift shops have the best stuff!). It’s Baltic amber and turquoise. Almost 98% of the amber on the market is from the Baltic region; I’m not sure of the origin of this turquoise but amber and turquoise seem to be often paired in jewelry.

Amber comes in many colors, translucent and opaque, often with plant or insect parts embedded in it. It glows, as you can see. Because it is such an ancient material, it holds properties, if you believe in that, and I do. How can it not, with the earth being a living thing?

Amber exerts positive influence on the endocrine system, spleen, heart. Healing, soothing, harmonizing. Electrically active with solidified golden light. Stabilizes kundalini awakening. Activates altruistic nature. Spiritualizes the intellect. Chakras: navel, solar plexus, crown.

That sounds good to me. A few days ago, I purchased another chunk of amber on etsy, from Palimpsest Blue. This piece of more opaque, honey-colored amber is also from the Baltic.

I always like wearing jewelry with several stones because I figure I will have a pretty good day with all those properties covered. This is a bracelet of the world, as the maker described it, because it also has turquoise, smoky quartz, jasper, copper and silver heishi from Ethiopia, and silver from the Karen Hill Tribe of Thailand. The 6 pieces of turquoise are from the Castle Dome mine, depleted since the 1970s, in Globe, Arizona, so these pieces made it back home again.

I would mention the many healing properties of turquoise here but my next jewelry post, in a few days, will be about some pretty Native American jewelry made with turquoise and other stones.

Did you have an amber teething ring or necklace when you were a baby? Apparently they used to be quite popular to relieve the pain of teething and are now becoming so again.

Maybe in a few million years, some strange earth beings will wear amber from my pine tree’s resin.

4 thoughts on “Amber Glow

  1. A very interesting and informative post today. I didn’t know that much about amber. I like your images of the jewelry and the resin on the tree.

    Like

Leave a Reply

