Turquoise Trail

The Turquoise Trail is really in New Mexico, not Arizona, but I thought it sounded cool for a title. This is one of my favorite pieces of jewelry although you will notice as I continue to show you my collection that I have many faves.

If you’ve been around Phoenix long, you’ll have heard of Gilbert Ortega and that is where I bought this necklace in 2006. I wanted something to go with these beautiful Navajo earrings Tony had given me a couple of years prior.

It can be hard to distinguish Navajo, Hopi, and Zuni silver, but if feathers are represented, it is usually Navajo. The necklace is also Navajo and one of the reasons I like it so much is that it has so many different stones.

In addition to turquoise, it has malachite, pin shell, rose quartz, carnelian, sponge coral, spiny oyster shell, jet, quartz, charotite, and a bunch of other things I’m not sure about…possibly jasper, amethyst…As I mentioned in my last jewelry post, I always figure that the more stones you have on, the more benefits you’re deriving from all their healing energies.

Turquoise tones, strengthens entire body. Tissue regeneration. Aids circulation, lungs, respiratory system. Vitalizes blood, nervous system. Aligns chakras. Enhances meditation. Creative expression, peace of mind, emotional balance, communication, friendship, loyalty. Chakra: throat.

Add in all those other stones and I would think just about everything would be covered. Tony also gave me these pretty Native American dreamcatcher earrings~turquoise and coral:

When I first moved to Arizona, back in 1974, I bought this ring even though I had very little money (that seldom stops me where jewelry is concerned, though). It’s malachite but I don’t remember which tribe. I think it’s Navajo because I read that the Navajos most often leave stones in their natural shape rather than cutting them.

I got this bracelet (also Navajo, I think) at an art show at the Phoenix Zoo a few years before I got the necklace. I think many of the same stones are in it but not as good quality.

And here’s a little teaser for a future post. This is not Native American but, rather, Mexican, from Taxco, the silver capital of Mexico and it’s from the 1940s or so. It’s silver, bronze (or brass), copper, and inlaid turquoise (or possibly malachite and/or chrysoprase). It can be hard to tell the difference between Native American and Mexican jewelry but Mexican jewelry usually has defining hallmarks on it.

I have some vintage Mexican silver, jewelry as well as a few other items, so as soon as I can photograph silver without it glaring and reflecting, I’ll show you some of that.

3 thoughts on “Turquoise Trail

  1. This is a fabulous post, Candace! You’ve shown us so many fine pieces of your jewelry. I also liked your explanation of the healing powers. Beautiful pieces and very nicely presented.

Leave a Reply

