Living Life

The purpose of life, after all, is to live it, to taste experience to the utmost, to reach out eagerly and without fear for newer and richer experiences. ~Eleanor Roosevelt

I read that quote today on Lesley Carter’s blog, Bucket List Publications. Lesley is always out searching for the next adventure and she also helps others’ dreams come true (check her blog out). But I sure don’t live life that way…wish I did, but I’m not much of a risk taker; it was ingrained into me during my childhood to be stable, cautious, secure. Therefore, I feel like a lot of life has passed me by and it’s my own fault.

Geez, how depressing, huh? Sorry…I do have fun and I like many things about my life but it’s more of a contentment than “living life to the fullest.” I have to trudge off to work everyday just to keep what I have and I don’t feel like I’m making the most of my time. It could be far worse I know, and I’m not complaining…I just wish I would take a few more chances.

Maybe it’s the gloomy weather that has me down but I know we need the rain really badly and we are getting some now. It’s rained a few times in the last couple days and I know it’s raining up in northern Arizona, too, so the spindly little pine trees I showed in my last post might be getting some needed relief now.

My next post will be more up :)…really.

*Kim Klassen textures on the first three photos (and they look better if you click on them).

Just added~rain in Phoenix for the 3rd time in the last few days…yay!

9 thoughts on “Living Life

  1. I don’t think there has ever been anyone who hasn’t felt that way upon occasion. I’m not much for just taking risks either, but I frequently will take a calculated risk. There can be a clear distinction between the two kinds.

    Like

    1. Yes, but look at what you do everyday! You’re up there hiking in roadless areas, encountering bears, seeing things most of us ever only see photos of. To me, you seem like you are living life to its very fullest!!!!! I envy you.

      Like

      1. I am now, Candace. After working for nearly 50 years I retired, not because I especially wanted to but because it seemed that nobody wanted to hire me any more. Now I’m making the most of the time I have left in the way I most want to, spending as much time as possible in the beautiful wild lands of western Montana. It’s a very simple and private way to be and enormously rewarding, especially so when through photos I can show other folks the awesome things I see there.

        Like

  2. A fine series that did look better enlarged. Very pretty! I think we all could look at our lives as having a great deal of wasted time. That other approach still demands some judicious decisions to not subject oneself to too much risk.

    Like

  3. Glad you got some rain, Candace. We finally got some here today for the first time in almost a month.

    Now…think of one small thing you would like to do, that you would not normally do, and DO IT this week. Baby steps. 🙂

    xo.

    Like

  4. Very great hub! I totally agree with you, and at certain point of my life I revaluated a lot of things and changed my opinion about a lot of things in life and the way of living, simply to “Live life to its fullest and Enjoy every moment, because this moment IS your life”.

    Like

Leave a Reply

