All the Cool Pollinators

…hang out in my lantana.

I finally was able to digitally capture one of the big orange butterflies I’ve seen swooping around our yard lately. And it wasn’t a Monarch, after all, but a Gulf Fritillary. I’ve photographed Variegated Fritillaries before but not this kind which, apparently, are not very closely related to the true fritillaries.

So, want to see who else has been dropping by the last few days?

Double Butterfly Score with a Painted Lady and a Skipper!

Painted Lady

I have previously posted photos of Painted Ladies here.

Brown Skipper

And I posted about Skippers last year here.

Gray Skipper in the nearby dandelions (click to enlarge)

Bee

Carrying Pollen with Its Feet

Gulf Fritillary (click to enlarge and click again)

Cuz I couldn’t pick just a couple.

Fly (yes, some of them are pollinators, too)

And, because I’m keeping score, here are some other butterfly species I have photographed in the last couple years.

Giant Swallowtail

Variegated Fritillary

Gray Hairstreak

Unidentified

And that’s my butterfly collection, so far.

5 thoughts on “All the Cool Pollinators

  1. You did such a good job of catching the butterflies in action. I’m impressed with the sharpness you got when shooting the image with the bee. Excellent post.

  2. Lovely autumn guests, and colorful flowers, too! Lucky you 🙂
    Your postcard arrived today ~ thanks so much, Candace! Perfect pairing of quote and image.
    Have a great week!
    P.S. Yes we live on a lake.

Leave a Reply

