Zoolights

CIMG0904

Well, the WordPress snow is now falling again so I guess I should venture out of my yard and post something more seasonal. Besides, my stats are way down~I guess everyone is busy with the holidays. I’ve begun my shopping and we’ve started attending holiday parties and events.

CIMG0921

These shots are from ZooLights at the Phoenix Zoo, an annual event featuring 3.6 million lights and 700 light displays. The organization I work for reserves a November night right before Zoolights opens to the public every year for employees, their families, and guests to attend privately. There were still several thousand people there but it was less crowded than it is on a normal ZooLights night.

I posted about this same event 3 years ago and the shots are better than these. Check them out!

CIMG0882

This year they had a new and awesome display…Music in Motion, synchronized to 15,000 lights and including a dozen 12-foot-tall floating light tubes, 26 dancing trees that surround the lake, and a 24-foot-diameter shimmering sphere that changed color continuously. I guess I consider this event the kick-off of our holiday season. See a few more festive shots in the slideshow below.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I hope you’re having a fun holiday season so far, too!

5 thoughts on “Zoolights

  1. The two posts complement each other in my opinion. I liked the close in views of the individual lights while the current post does a good job of presenting the more expansive view of the displays. It must be something to see in person.

    Like

Leave a Reply

