Vermilion

DSC_0216a

Isn’t he beautiful? He’s a Vermilion Flycatcher that we saw at the Hassayampa River Preserve near Wickenburg, AZ.

DSC_0200

More than 280 types of birds have been documented at this preserve but we barely saw any during our 3 hour walk. We heard them (including a woodpecker) but until we were getting ready to leave, they kept themselves scarce.

DSC_0211

DSC_0212

I think this one, below, is a female vermilion flycatcher as they seemed to be hanging out together.

Female VF

Also spotted is what I think was a Mourning Cloak butterfly which is the state butterfly of Montana so maybe Terry can confirm my guess.

Mourning Cloak

There were quite a few of these flitting around but I couldn’t get very close.

And Tony correctly identified this as a praying mantis egg case which I was able to verify on the internet:

PM Egg Case

This is an American Coot, I believe.

American Coot

It’s a drab, stark place in the winter so this may not have been the best time to go. Even though we didn’t see much wildlife, I still took quite a few photos so I’ll be blogging more about the preserve in days to come. Here’s a hint:

Stark Trees

9 responses to “Vermilion

  1. love the bird! brilliant color

  2. Very nice. I want some of the praying mantis egg cases in my yard!

  3. Yes, I’d say that is a Mourning Cloak. The Flycatcher sure is a beauty! Back in the olden days I used to spend a lot of time along the Hassayampa; good memories!

  4. You got a fine series of this beautiful bird. We don’t have a “red” bird in this part of the state as far as I know.

  5. What striking color on that Flycatcher! Looks like a fun place to enjoy nature, Candace 🙂

  6. Oh my goodness, that little flycatcher is GORGEOUS!! what an amazing color, and I’m sure I’ve not seen one before.
    Such wonderful photographs these are.

  7. What a beautiful bird! I’d love to go check out that preserve sometime!

Leave a Reply

