The Cloudy Day

DSC_1022 reduced noise

Cloudy days here are significant because they’re so few. I prefer to photograph in sunlight, especially late afternoon, but this cloudy day earlier this week was so pleasant, with an unseasonal high of 87 degrees, that I had to take my camera to work and stop somewhere on the way home.

DSC_1002

DSC_0979

I find Great Blue Herons totally fascinating, especially when you can find them right in town. This is an area in mid-Scottsdale with a lot of small lakes. Herons look like they could be cartoon creatures to me, they’re so bizarre and exotic-looking, and I would like to have watched him for hours as he patiently waited for a tasty fish to swim by.

DSC_0978

This is the first time I’ve been so close to a dry heron. Usually, they’re wet (like this one in Gilbert) but this one’s long feathers looked so soft and fluffy.

DSC_1003

I wish I had picked up this feather because I feel like it was his.

I didn't!

I didn’t!

DSC_0968

DSC_0973

DSC_0983

DSC_0971

I was at a little lake called Camelback Lake by a restaurant close to golf courses, parks, and many other small lakes. It’s the same lake I photographed this egret last Thanksgiving. It seems like a peaceful place for a wading bird to hang out and browse the menu.

DSC_0975

DSC_0969

DSC_1019

5 responses to “The Cloudy Day

  1. I remember I used to savor the cloudy days. As a matter of fact, I still do.
    You got some wonderful shots of those ducks!

  2. I sure am glad you had your camera with you, Candace!
    You found some wonderful scenes to photograph.
    I LOVE the ducks!
    Have a fantastic weekend!

  3. In certain moments of flight, though, the long glide and the soaring turn, I think there are few creatures more graceful or beautiful than herons and egrets. Lovely photos, I think I know that guy.

  4. We have Snowy Egrets, as well as Blue, around Sacramento CA and see them often in the rice fields and irrigation canals. I also used to love sighting the small Green Herons along Putah Creek when I worked at the University in Davis. They were always so focused, perched on logs, waiting…waiting.

    Thanks for the beautiful photo of the male Mallard, too. Mallards are definitely my favorites of the bird kingdom. ❤

  5. A fine and very interesting series. I like the number of variations you got from this site. Very good job of shooting.

Leave a Reply

