Day of the Dead ’13

DSC_0004

Hi, it’s my fifth annual Día de Los Muertos post! Keeping with my tradition, I was happy to find some new murals around town to show you.

DSC_0003

A new Lalo Cota and Breeze mural on Barrio Cafe, home to many murals.

DSC_0005

DSC_0002

More Lalo above, on the door of his former studio/gallery, on Calle 16.

DSC_0007

I love this beauty, above, on Central Avenue.

DSC_0008

He’s been busy!

DSC_0018

DSC_0019

And a few more items spotted about town:

DSC_2306

DSC_2309

Why didn’t I find these when I got married???? Seriously. I would have loved them.

DSC_2310

And because I had no Halloween posts this year (unlike last year when I had a couple spooky ones, 1 and 2), here is Halloween transitioning into the Days of the Dead (November 1 and 2), right at midnight, the witching hour!

DSC_2350

Happy Halloween~Feliz Día de los Muertos!

Want more Day of the Dead? Here are some links to my previous posts: 2012’s post, 2011’s post, 2010′s post, and 2009′s post.

5 responses to “Day of the Dead ’13

  1. A fine halloween post with all those images. I like the murals better. 🙂 Very good post.

  2. Well photographed as always! I’m amazed that the murals keep getting better and better!

  3. This is really some magnificent artwork, Candace!
    Thank you for sharing it here.
    Have a great weekend!

  4. Hi Candace,
    Thanks for sharing these murals – so fun and colorful! Actually, I find the color and imagery of the Day of the Dead celebration so intriguing. What a great theme for artists! Nothing like that this far north 😦
    P.S. cookies for you any time you travel to the frozen northwoods 🙂

  5. WordsFallFromMyEyes

    Wonderful art. I love seeing walls aflame like this. Great photos, Candace. You show me so much of the world!

Leave a Reply

