Rosy-Faced

DSC_4867 male crop

DSC_4869

I’m totally excited to have found a flock of these birds again. Years ago, we saw them in a park not too far from our house but I didn’t have a good digital camera back then and, when I did, they were nowhere to be found. They are somewhat common in the Phoenix area but I haven’t been able to “capture” them until today. They were in a different park, also fairly close to our house.

DSC_4854

These are Rosy-Faced Lovebirds (or Peach-Faced).  They are interesting in that they are descendants of captive birds that have thrived in the Phoenix area since the mid-1980s. There are large feral populations of them all over town and a one-day count of them on February 27, 2010 yielded 948. They especially like palm trees and I heard a bunch of them in a palm tree before I saw these.

DSC_4860

This lovebird is native to dry wooded country in southwestern Africa and has adapted well to the climate in Phoenix which is not the case with other domestic parrot species. They are more of an urban wild bird than a bird found in outlying desert areas. I saw several of them today but these photos are the best.

“The long-term status of the Rosy-faced Lovebird in Arizona is not predictable. However in the greater Phoenix area, they are widespread, their population is growing, and there is little doubt that this charismatic little psittacid will continue to be part of Arizona’s avifauna for the foreseeable future” (AZ Field Ornithologists).

DSC_4858

I U

9 thoughts on “Rosy-Faced

  1. I’m glad you were able to get these good shots of these pretty and unusual (to me) birds. They are lucky to be adaptable to your range of temperatures in Phoenix.

  2. I remember walking into my backyard a year or two ago and seeing one of these perched on a chair. I thought I was LOSING MY MIND because I thought it was someone’s pet parrot that flew away…then I saw about a million of them in our neighbor’s tree and looked them up and found out what they were. They’re so cute!! We didn’t have any in the neighborhood I grew up near ASU West, so even though I’m an AZ native it was the first time I’d seen them. Such pretty birds!

Leave a Reply

