Birthday Bird

DSC_5192

Today’s my birthday so I thought I would commemorate it by trying to get a photo of my “Zodiac Bird.” You can find yours here. I succeeded but this is the time of year they are molting (I just found out today) so they don’t spread their plumage much. I was hoping for a more dramatic shot…and maybe finding a feather but neither of those worked out.

DSC_5194

There were several Peacocks at historic, pretty Sahuaro Ranch in Glendale.

DSC_5185

DSC_5196

I’ll have to go back in the fall when it’s a lot more pleasant and they have their feathers again.

DSC_5197

And there were Peahens, too, of course.

DSC_5199

They were in the shade. I was the only one dumb enough to be out in the sun. There were also some bonus birds ~ Helmeted Guineafowl:

DSC_5184

I like their feather pattern, kind of tweed-ish.

DSC_5182

DSC_5198

“Leave me alone!”

8 responses to “Birthday Bird

  1. Diane Rapaport

    Love peacocks. Had no idea there were ‘zodiac’ birds, so I had to look it up. In the original ‘zodiac’ ‘circle of animals,’ only the eagle is linked to Scorpio. Apparently for Gemini, many horoscope gurus say its a parrot.

    “From Southern India, a land where astrology has long been venerated and revered as a source of both practical and spiritual guidance, there is a little know astrology system which relates birds to the horoscope. Its called the Pancha Pakshi Zodiac. The words translate five and birds respectively. The five is for the elements, fire, water, air, earth and ether (spirit). The birds originally ruling the five elements are the peacock, chicken, owl, vulture and crow. http://tribes.tribe.net/animalguides/thread/13355656-426b-4313-8999-6fc775151023
    Then there’s a bunch of info on finding your horoscope ‘spirit’ bird guide. Who wudda thought!

  2. Happy birthday, Candace!

  3. A very Happy Birthday to you, Candace!!!

  4. Have a very happy one!

  5. Happy Birthday, Candace! I like your peacock/peahen pictures. I think I would have never noticed the difference in amount of feathers.

  6. Happy Birthday to you!

  7. Happy belated, wonderful woman!

  8. Hope your birthday was terrific!

Leave a Reply

