Back to the Falls

DSC_5647

I went back to Arizona Falls a couple of weeks ago because I heard there were Green Herons there. Well, they must have been out and about fishing when I was there because I saw none.

DSC_5673

I last wrote about Arizona Falls here. Located on the canal, it is a functional hydroelectric plant that furnishes power for 150 homes as well as a public art project called WaterWorks.

DSC_5648

DSC_5655

There are 2 sets of falls here but there are also some smaller falls. Arizona Falls has been in existence since the early 1900s (in different incarnations) when it used to be a popular picnic destination.

DSC_5670

This photo, below, is from my post several years ago but gives you an idea of the current structure. Only one of the falls was running that day.

AZ Falls Distance

DSC_5642

I had to amuse myself with capturing water effects and experimenting with shutter speeds.

DSC_5650

DSC_5651

Spotted Sandpiper 2

The star of the day, for me, was this Spotted Sandpiper, since I’ve never photographed one before.

DSC_5658

Gotta get a few more birds in…

DSC_5628

DSC_5669

DSC_5660

This is an interesting and strange place but I would have enjoyed a little more bird action since that seems to be my preference lately.

5 responses to “Back to the Falls

  1. Oh what an interesting place in the desert!

  2. The water images are simply amazing.

  3. Hello
    Thank you for the presentation falls Arizona! a small plant that helps many people around! I ‘appreciate your perspective on the veil of falling water – beautiful realization of this effect to some abstract result
    good week

  4. Very interesting! The star of the show though is the Sandpiper!

  5. I like the visit to the Arizona Falls. The bird pictures were a good addition to the falls series. The water shots produced some very usable images. Well done, Candace!

Leave a Reply

