Birdwalk at the DBG

Finch Praying

To go with my praying Mockingbird in my last post, here is a female House Finch in prayer at the Desert Botanical Garden.

Gila Woodpeckers

Every Monday they have a birdwalk there but I’m usually at work. Last Monday I was off so I went. It was kind of a slow bird day, in my opinion, as I often see more in my own yard but a few made an appearance. Those are Gila Woodpeckers, above.

Thrasher

This is a Curve-Billed Thrasher which is in the same songbird family as Mockingbirds (Mimidae).

Curve-Billed Thrasher

You can see the similarity:

Mock

Hummer

Cactus Wren 2

Our state bird, the Cactus Wren.

Spiny Lizard 2

And, of course, we saw a few non-birds like this Spiny Lizard.

Flicker

From afar, I saw a Gilded Flicker.

American Wigeon 1

When I left the DBG, I stopped in at the Papago Park ponds close by and saw this American Wigeon, above, as well as a colorful Common Gallinule showing off.

Common Gallinule 2

Common Gallinule

Grackle and Catch

Nature is harsh sometimes as when a pretty dragonfly gets gobbled up by a happy Grackle.  😦 That’s the way it goes, I guess.

I also saw a Great Horned Owl up in a tree, far away, facing the other direction, so I’m not sure that counts on my birding list.

7 responses to “Birdwalk at the DBG

  1. I sure enjoy your excellent photos of birds and critters that I don’t get to see any more!

  2. hello
    Beautiful new series – with excellent framing – bravo for the mountings
    The last is beautiful
    Good weekend

  3. As always, your bird pictures are so excellent. I super enjoy seeing them plus that you identify them, too. 🙂 Thanks for sharing your birding expeditions.

  4. You have the most wonderful feathered friends, Candace!
    These photographs are really lovely.

  5. dianeschuller.com

    some really amazing photographs. I’m amazed at the detail you captured on that cactus wren. I love wrens but have never seen a cactus wren. Lovely

  6. Altogether a fine series of birds and lizard. I like the comparison of the two look alike birds.

Leave a Reply

