Sparse Leafpeeping in Indiana

DSC_6857

DSC_6887

I just got back from northern Indiana and, disappointingly, the leaves were just beginning to change on most of the trees. It’s a very late fall. It was also cloudy and raining most of the time I was there…

DSC_6919

DSC_6845

DSC_6846_edited-1

It was even foggy one morning, something rarely seen in Phoenix.

DSC_6849

DSC_6850

DSC_6858

Now that’s what I wanted to see more of, above.

DSC_6860

DSC_6865

Behind those marshy grasses, above, is a little pond where ducks hang out. This girl is the only one who came out to greet me this year wearing her leaf necklace.

DSC_6866

DSC_6869

DSC_6872

She’s a Mallard hybrid which I confirmed with one of my knowledgeable birding buddies.

DSC_6871

DSC_6874

DSC_6876

DSC_6877

I was hoping to see some Cardinals, Robins, Blue Jays, something…I heard birds but never saw any close up.

DSC_6878

DSC_6879

DSC_6884

This guy did not seem to want his photo taken as right after this shot, above, he started chasing me. So I left.

DSC_6892

DSC_6895

DSC_6896

DSC_6908

DSC_6841

Just not as dramatic as I had hoped for… 😦

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

5 thoughts on “Sparse Leafpeeping in Indiana

  1. Despite the lack of the color you were expecting to find, you did get some very good shots of the fall colors. Our here have lacked the color I would have expected with a number of trees turning brown and the leaves are falling already.

Leave a Reply

